Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd July 2009, 13:59
behanj behanj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Removing menu items for client logins

Hi,

I've setup ISPConfig3 on my server. I'm currently using it to manage email for clients across several domains and will eventually use it for client FTP access to their sites.
I'd like to restrict my clients to only a few tasks when they login to their accounts. I've already removed their access to everything except help and email. But I'd like to go further and remove - Email Domain, Email Alias, Email Catchall, Email Routing and Fetchmail. My clients won't use these and they'll only confuse them.
I'd also like to make the Email Mailbox the first page that the client sees when they login.
I've had a look at the template files and couldn't figure out how to do this so any help would be greatly appreciated.

As a side question - Is there a way to alert the admin when new messages arrives through the help system? Also, in the help system, the client can send messages to the admin but the Recipient ID field is blank. This might cause confusion too, so I'd like to just remove that field. (Sorry for this!)Can I make the Help system open onto the View Messages page when opened?

Thanks for your patience,
John
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd July 2009, 16:41
behanj behanj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Update

I think I've figured out what I need to do.

If I create a theme with only the trimmed down options that I need then I could assign that to my clients.

But I've hit two problems -
1 - I followed the steps from Post 4 on this thread - http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...ighlight=theme but I cannot select my new theme for my clients.
The theme appears as a radio button in System/Users, but cannot be selected. In the Client section it is not in the dropdown.
2 - The menu items seem to be generated with Javascript, how can I copy specific menu items to hardcode them into my new "client" theme?

Thanks for your patience.

John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2009, 18:07
behanj behanj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Managed a clunky solution

Hi,

Just thought I'd update this thread with my inelegant solution to this problem.

I created the theme as per the previous link.

I then edited the sysuser database table to force the client account to use my new template. This worked.

I could then edit the new template and the client gets the menu items I want them to.
I got the llinks for the menu items by using firebug - inspect element.

One problem remains. The nav menu I created is shown when the user is logged out. Clicking on it, at the login screen, causes the ispconfig header to be repeated in the main content area of the page.
Not a huge concern but it'd be nice to have some kind of php "if_logged_in" to disable this menu when logged out.

Not the nicest way to do it I suppose but it's working.

If anyone can tell me why I need to edit the db directly, instead of being able to choose themes for clients when logged in as admin, I'd appreciate it.
Or if there's a better way to do this then I'd be happy to hear that to.

All the best,
John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd July 2009, 11:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,169 Times in 4,053 Posts
Default

Quote:
I then edited the sysuser database table to force the client account to use my new template. This worked.
And why did you edit the table instead of simply selecting the theme in the user settings??

Sorry but what you did is really a bit strange. Why did you not simply changed the menu file which is in the lib directory of every module?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd July 2009, 12:21
behanj behanj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

Thanks for your reply.

I couldn't choose the new theme in user settings. It appears in System/Users but not in the Client section of the admin area. The radio button for the theme is System/Users can't be selected. It's not greyed out or anything, it just can't be selected. If you'd like to see what I mean I can do a screencapture.

The reason I created a theme was that I wanted the admin to have access to all the menus, but I wanted a restricted set of menus for the clients.
I thought the best way of doing this would be to create a theme with the menus stripped out and then assign that to each client.

Is there a better way to do this?

Thanks again,
John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th July 2009, 12:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,169 Times in 4,053 Posts
Default

If you want to edit the menu you will hav to do this in the menu file and not the theme. The menu file for every module is named module.conf.php and it is in the lib folder of every module.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th July 2009, 11:01
behanj behanj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Till,

I'll give that a try.

John
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th July 2009, 16:24
behanj behanj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

That worked well, thanks for the advice.
I used the "if admin" code from one of the menus and got it to hide the options I didn't want users to see.

Thanks again,
John
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th May 2013, 22:43
diablo666 diablo666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 95
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Hi behanj,
can you do an example of code you modified?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
client login setup, customizing interface

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Menu items for OpenOffice 3 Ulnagar HOWTO-Related Questions 3 18th October 2008 15:43
Help With GUI Menu nightfire Programming/Scripts 3 1st July 2008 15:27
kernel compile error/ndiswrapper error Droogie Kernel Questions 1 28th April 2008 21:38
ISPConfig pop3 problem mphayesuk General 21 31st October 2005 10:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.