Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > ISPConfig 3 Priority Support

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th May 2013, 16:26
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 420
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
Default where to configure DNS TTL minimal values ?

Hello,

some time ago there was solved issue in butracker about limits for minimal values which user can input to DNS (eg not less than 3600)
The issue was fixed and i asked once where the limits can be set.
I got answer that somewhere in the script.

I cannot find the issue or the answer. Can anybody advice me where i can set minimal limits which user can set for DNS? Users are settng nosenses like 60 second etc..

Regards
RH
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th May 2013, 17:17
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,078
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
Default

The values for the checks are defined in the form files. See e.g. /usr/local/ispconfig/interface/web/dns/form/dns_soa.tform.php

To change the min. value for the ttl of the zone, change the line 209 from:

'range' => '60:',

to:

'range' => '3600:',
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th May 2013, 17:47
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 420
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
Default

Than you info.

Just notice for this:

Limit is working only for main records for zone
Refresh, Retry ,Expire, Minimum, TTL
Not working for individual records inside zone, you can create any A record with 1 second

Also translation string may be
"You have exceeded minimal interval for record" instead of "Min. Retry time is 60 seconds."

---
And also - it will be really helpfull if limit works just for users and administrator is able to set any kind of record anywhere...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th May 2013, 09:01
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,078
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
Default

Thanks, I added it ti the bugtracker.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th May 2013, 09:05
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 420
Thanks: 33
Thanked 24 Times in 19 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
Default

Thanks

There is question, if individulal records needs to have to have their own TTL at all.
Or - TTL from zone should be automatically propagated to individual records..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th May 2013, 09:08
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,078
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
 
Default

If we would remove thet option, then the next user will complain why its gone. Maybe we can set the zone ttl as default for new records.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dns, minumin ttl, ttl limit

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Configure DNS ISPConfig3 sistemas Installation/Configuration 4 20th April 2013 19:55
ISPConfig 3 - MultiServer Setup - With Dedicated Control Panel - How? SuperJC Installation/Configuration 4 16th October 2012 20:03
How configure SRV DNS record with these options rogeriosjr General 1 16th July 2012 15:54
Dns question Mahir Installation/Configuration 48 14th November 2006 10:19
How do I configure ISPconfig USING DMZ DNS server??? xianusa Installation/Configuration 1 12th April 2006 08:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.