#1  
Old 6th May 2013, 15:19
casilmktg casilmktg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Multiple sites access

We have a domain that points to the server's single IP. We have added another site/domain to the server via ISPConfig3. The DNS has not propagated yet. Is there anyway to access the second site without its domain?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th May 2013, 15:38
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,158
Thanks: 4
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Default

you can edit your hosts file and point the domain to the ip... until DNS properly propagates.

Instead of your hosts file on your single machine, you could use dnsmasq or something on your router....
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th May 2013, 23:41
casilmktg casilmktg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply. Actually that is not the problem.
Perhaps I did not explain my problem well ...

Instea dof using the hosts file we could simply use
the ip address. The issue is this:

SiteA was setup as a website on the server. Using
both the IP or DomainA.com we can reach the site. All good
so far.

We setup a second site - SiteB - on the same server. As far
as the ISPConfig3 is concerned, that site is for DomainB.com

Now the question is how do we navigate to the SiteB while
DomainB.com has not propagated?

In other words, what is the URL structure to navigate thru
*ISPConfig3's structure* to reach SiteB?

And do we need one FTP account per site, in ISPConfig3? I
don't seem to be able to create one ftp account that can
access all the sites!

Any help will be appreciated
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th May 2013, 23:46
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,158
Thanks: 4
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
 
Default

hosts entry.... as I said above... that will solve the problem.

IP address alone isn't sufficient.
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig3 How to have multiple manually created port based SSL client sites hosts zapyahoo Installation/Configuration 10 20th January 2013 17:01
multiple sites per user petergus General 7 6th January 2013 05:28
multiple sites on ISPConfig Roxas93 Installation/Configuration 3 24th October 2011 12:19
ispconfig3 Multiple Sites (Domains) in one Server dcarlos General 29 11th September 2009 22:59
Access authenticating FTP sites using FTP Clients on XP clients via SQUID munirg2003 Server Operation 2 13th June 2007 07:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.