Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th March 2013, 03:55
bradboy bradboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry ISPconfig 3 secondary dns not receiving updates

I followed the howto at http://www.ispconfig.org/news/tutori...ebian-squeeze/.

The secondary ns just sits there with it's thumb...
there are no errors in /var/log/ispconfig/cron.log
there is no related messages in /var/log/syslog

I don't even know what to post to help you folks help me figure out what the deal is. I'm on debian 7 (wheezy)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th March 2013, 05:35
hellkat hellkat is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to hellkat
Default

I've run primary and secondary DNS from ISPConfig for a while, I may be able to assist, but you're gonna have to explain what you mean by "The secondary ns just sits there with it's thumb..."
__________________
--
Shared Hosting and Virtual Private servers from CyberKat Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th March 2013, 07:04
bradboy bradboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, I suppose the confusion is a result of a very annoyed brad posting!

below you will see a shell session to demonstrate the level of nothingness that occurs. It appears that parts are missing from the install, however I've ran the install multiple times.

Code:
Linux ns2 3.2.0-4-686-pae #1 SMP Debian 3.2.35-2 i686

The programs included with the Debian GNU/Linux system are free software;
the exact distribution terms for each program are described in the
individual files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright.

Debian GNU/Linux comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent
permitted by applicable law.
Last login: Mon Mar  4 23:37:03 2013 from 255.sub-75-221-94.myvzw.com

bradboy@ns2:~$ sudo /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
[sudo] password for bradboy: 
Unable to load the server configuration from database.

bradboy@ns2:~$ sudo /usr/local/ispconfig/server/cron_daily.sh
finished.

bradboy@ns2:~$ tail /var/log/ispconfig/ispconfig.log 
04.03.2013-17:27 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:28 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:29 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:30 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:31 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:32 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:33 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:34 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:35 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/
04.03.2013-17:36 - ERROR - Plugins directory missing: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/plugins-core/

bradboy@ns2:~$ tail /var/log/ispconfig/cron.log 
chmod: cannot access `/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/*': No such file or directory
chmod: cannot access `/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/*': No such file or directory
chmod: cannot access `/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/*': No such file or directory
chmod: cannot access `/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/*': No such file or directory

bradboy@ns2:~$ sudo ls /usr/local/ispconfig/
interface  server

bradboy@ns2:~$ sudo ls /usr/local/ispconfig/server/
aps_packages  conf-custom     cron_daily.sh  mods-available  mods-enabled	plugins-enabled  server.php  temp
conf	      cron_daily.php  lib	     mods-core	     plugins-available	scripts		 server.sh

bradboy@ns2:~$
On the ISPConfig interface, in System > Server > Services ns2 is there. Clicking it reveals that it does have a checkmark next to DNS, and Is mirror of server ns1 is selected.

bradboy@ns2:~$ ls /etc/bind/zones does not reveal any zones from ns1
bradboy@ns2:~$ cat /etc/bind/named.conf.local does not reveal any entries either.

Basically, it sits there with it's thumb in it's backside, taunting me, teasing me because I haven't figured out what I'm sure will be a simple solution. The only thing ns2 runs is ssh and bind9.

Please let me know what other info you need.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th March 2013, 07:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Please see first post in this forum for debug instructions:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58408

Follow the instructions and post the result. And dont run the ispconfig scripts with sudo, this can result in wrong output. Run sudo su to become root user first.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th March 2013, 16:30
bradboy bradboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

rather than sudo su, which does it's intended job, you might consider sudo -i that some people argue is the correct way of doing it. Additionally, in a hardened linux system that has root disabled, sudo su will not work, whereas sudo -i will.

After reading the Read This Before Posting again, and paying attention to the DNS problem section, I find the following:
  • The title of my original post indicated that I'm using ISPConfig 3
  • The content of my original post indicated that I'm on Debian wheezy
  • Although I have not waited 24 hours, I have inspected /etc/bind/named.conf/local and /etc/bind/zones for the appropriate changes, bypassing the dns cache issue. This was stated in my previous post.
  • I did indeed show the tail of syslog immediately after executing the scripts in my previous post. if you would like more syslog, just ask.

To be complete and follow your instructions precisely, I took another look at the ISPConfig not writing changes to disk section.. I was happy that my memory of the article was correct, it gives instructions only for those affected servers who are running the web gui. Page two of the howto which covers installing on the secondary DNS has the users set it up without the gui. I also agree with this logic, there is no need to have web interfaces everywhere.

I'm afraid I have absolutely no new content to add, other than this post which restates my first two posts.

Perhaps the problem I'm having is not clear. ns2 is for some reason not reflecting the updates that I make with the web interface that this forum addresses, which is installed and working on ns1.

Last edited by bradboy; 5th March 2013 at 16:47. Reason: minor addition
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th March 2013, 17:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Quote:
To be complete and follow your instructions precisely, I took another look at the ISPConfig not writing changes to disk section.. I was happy that my memory of the article was correct, it gives instructions only for those affected servers who are running the web gui. Page two of the howto which covers installing on the secondary DNS has the users set it up without the gui. I also agree with this logic, there is no need to have web interfaces everywhere.
The debugging guide covers all kind of setups, it does not matter if you have a single server or a few hundred servers as the instructions are the same. So please follow the debug instructions if you like to get help with your issue.

1) Enable debugging in the ispconfig interface (which is on the server that runs the interface of course)
2) Run the server.sh script on the server that is not writing the changes.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th March 2013, 17:50
bradboy bradboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok... I made the change. My deepest apologies. When I read the article, my interpretation of it is that if you have a problem on srvX you need to access https://srvX.com:8080 and make the adjustment there.

I've changed the problem ns2 to debug. I've left the every minute crontab uncommented. I also ran /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh as root.

I notice two interesting things, one of which I commented on already in a previous post.
Code:
root@ns2:~# /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
Unable to load the server configuration from database.
The other, on ISPConfig > Monitor > Overview, it shows (Debian Wheezy/Sid) ISPConfig 3.0.5.1 beside ns1. ns2 however does not have ~anything~ beside it's name.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th March 2013, 18:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

The slave is not able to connect to the master database, so it can not fetch changes or update the status. The most common reason for that are wrong or missing entroies in /etc/hosts on master and / or slave server. It is important that all servers of a cluster have all other servers in their /etc/hosts files and that only the fqdn is listed there as it is decribed in the multiserver guides.

You can verify this by trying to login on the commandline from slave server to master with the mysql master login details from file /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/config.inc.php

As you most likely dont want to reinstall the slave if the hosts were wrong during install, you will have to fix the hostname of the ispcsrv[ID] mysql user of this slave in the mysql master database.

Quote:
The other, on ISPConfig > Monitor > Overview, it shows (Debian Wheezy/Sid) ISPConfig 3.0.5.1 beside ns1. ns2 however does not have ~anything~ beside it's name.
Thats related to the connection issue.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th March 2013, 19:19
bradboy bradboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I opened /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/config.inc.php on the problem ns2 to retrieve the username and password. I used the information as seen below from the file...

Code:
//** Database settings for the master DB. This setting is only used in multiserver setups
$conf['dbmaster_type']                  = 'mysql';
$conf['dbmaster_host']                  = 'ns1.46-10.com';
$conf['dbmaster_database']              = 'dbispconfig';
$conf['dbmaster_user']                  = 'ispcsrv2';
$conf['dbmaster_password']              = 'OBSCURED';
$conf['dbmaster_new_link']              = false;
$conf['dbmaster_client_flags']  = 0;
Back on ns1, I did the following:
Code:
bradboy@ns1:~$ mysql -u root -p
Enter password: 
Welcome to the MySQL monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 4773
Server version: 5.5.29-1 (Debian)

Copyright (c) 2000, 2012, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.

Oracle is a registered trademark of Oracle Corporation and/or its
affiliates. Other names may be trademarks of their respective
owners.

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the current input statement.

mysql> use mysql;
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A
mysql> UPDATE mysql.user SET Password=PASSWORD('OBSCURED') WHERE User='ispcsrv2';
Query OK, 2 rows affected (0.00 sec)
Rows matched: 3  Changed: 2  Warnings: 0

mysql> flush privileges;
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)

mysql> quit
Bye
bradboy@ns1:~$
Over to ns2, I got:
Code:
root@ns2:~# /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
Unable to load the server configuration from database.
Just to make sure the /etc/hosts wasn't causing the problem, I added:
x.x.x.x ns1.46-10.com
to the host file on ns2. Although the changes are supposed to take effect immediately, I rebooted anyway.

On ns1 I added
y.y.y.y ns2.46-10.com
Once ns2 came back up and I kicked all of the other users off, I rebooted ns1 as well.

I still have the same problem. Your idea of the password issue gave me an idea though. I wanted to know if the ispcsrv2 user had host access in sql. Here is the result:
Code:
mysql> use mysql
Reading table information for completion of table and column names
You can turn off this feature to get a quicker startup with -A

Database changed
mysql> select host, user from user;
+---------------+------------------+
| host          | user             |
+---------------+------------------+
| %             | ispconfig        |
| %             | ispcsrv2         |
| %             | root             |
| 127.0.1.1     | ispcsrv2         |
| ::1           | root             |
| localhost     |                  |
| localhost     | debian-sys-maint |
| localhost     | root             |
| ns1           |                  |
| ns1           | root             |
| ns1.46-10.com | ispconfig        |
| ns2.46-10.com | ispcsrv2         |
+---------------+------------------+
13 rows in set (0.00 sec)

mysql>
Puzzled, I rebooted the thing again before it started filling up with users. When it came back, the web interface now reports ns2's OS info. ( Silly cache ) We are getting somewhere.

I took a look in ns2's /etc/bind... and find it filled with the pri.domain.tld zone files. I remember the BIND zonefiles directory and wanted to make sure that it's set correctly for ns2, and it is.

I added a 000test.tld using the add zone wizard. ns2's named.conf.local got re-written with only the new test entry I added, and it's zone file went into /etc/bind/zones as expected.

ALMOST THERE!!!!
Do I just need to let it sit for a while to play catchup with all the other zones, or do I need to somehow force a complete reload?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th March 2013, 20:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

You can use the resync tool to force a resync of he zones if not all records are there.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
bradboy (6th March 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3 and secondary dns problems xzibiz Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2012 07:57
ISPConfig DNS Network Solutions jameschump General 5 22nd March 2009 14:47
Loads of mysql connections to dbispconfig StrikerNL General 2 5th March 2009 14:31
Reverse DNS + SPF and ISPConfig as my DNS Server yurtboy1 General 1 6th November 2007 09:15
Adding domains to non-ISPConfig secondary DNS servers cstone Tips/Tricks/Mods 4 19th July 2006 14:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.