Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 5th April 2013, 16:36
markc markc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Thanks: 6
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I just posted a quick reply and got a nginx error. Quick points...

Use a DMZ if your router supports it. That sends ALL traffic to the internal server.

Set your web server to listen to the internal LAN IP of the server.

Set your DNS TTL to 300 so your resource records propagate in 5 minutes.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 5th April 2013, 16:45
zapyahoo zapyahoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 47
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Dan

Can you post here your /etc/hosts file
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th April 2013, 19:43
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Exclamation DMZ, Webserver to listen & DNS TTL

Quote:
Originally Posted by markc View Post
Has your router got an option to configure and internal IP as a DMZ? Is so then that will let ALL traffic through to the internal server on your private LAN network. Your external port scan indicates that port 80 is open but that doesn't say whether that is port 80 on the router or the one forwarded to on the internal server.

When you configure the webserver, tell it to listen on the INTERNAL LAN IP and on your linux desktop add "192.168.xx.xx yourdomainname.tld" to /etc/hosts to force your browser to go directly to the webserver on the LAN IP.

Also, when testing your DNS, set all your TTL settings to 300 seconds so any changes propagate within about 5 to 10 minutes.

Hi Markc,

[DMZ...]
DMZ is enabled, and forwardet to myserverip which is 192.168.1.200 . First I just opened the ports needed for ISPconfig but to solve this problem I enabled DMZ !! I wil insert a screendump of my portforwarding list. DNZ is listed in the bottom of this list. The list will be inserted in the bottom of this post!

[... webserver, tell it to listen on the INTERNAL LAN IP etc.]
I thinks this may be whats wrong - It sounds like it could be it, but where do I set this up? First the webserver, this is what I really need! Later, I would like the fix for the desktop as well.

[..set all your TTL settings to 300 seconds]
I will do that right away!

PortForwarding List & DMZ:

Navn Aktiveret Status Protokol Fra port Til port Omdirigerings port Lokal IP adresse Funktion

SSH/sFTP
SecureShell/SecureFTP Yes ENABLED TCP 22 22 22 192.168.1.200
ISPConfig3 ControlPanel Yes ENABLED TCP 8080 8080 8080 192.168.1.200
POP3 Email (usikker) Yes ENABLED TCP 110 110 110 192.168.1.200
SMTP Email Yes ENABLED TCP 25 25 25 192.168.1.200
FTP Server Yes ENABLED TCP 21 21 21 192.168.1.200
NameServer Yes ENABLED UDP 53 53 53 192.168.1.200
NameServer Yes ENABLED TCP 53 53 53 192.168.1.200
ISPConfig3 Webmail Yes ENABLED TCP 8081 8081 8081 192.168.1.200
WebServer HTTP Yes ENABLED TCP 80 80 80 192.168.1.200
IMAP Email (usikker) Yes ENABLED TCP 143 143 143 192.168.1.200
FTP data Yes ENABLED TCP 20 20 20 192.168.1.200
WebServer Https (sikker) Yes ENABLED TCP 443 443 443 192.168.1.200
IMAPs Email tls/ssl(sikker) Yes ENABLED TCP 993 993 993 192.168.1.200
POP3 Email tls/ssl(sikker) Yes ENABLED TCP 995 995 995 192.168.1.200
3306? Yes ENABLED TCP 3306 3306 3306 192.168.1.200
3306? Yes ENABLED UDP 3306 3306 3306 192.168.1.200
10000? Yes ENABLED TCP 10000 10000 10000 192.168.1.200
DMZ Yes ENABLED ALL 0 0 0 192.168.1.200

Opret en ny regel
[ ] UPnP


Sorry about the order, couldn't get it to look any better here, i tried! It looked great in the textfield but not efter being posted

I am sitting right here the next 12 hours hoping any of you will have the time to get me through this.

Kind Regards,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th April 2013, 19:56
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Exclamation Post here your /etc/hosts file - Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zapyahoo View Post
Dan

Can you post here your /etc/hosts file

Hi Zapyahoo,

Thanks! Thanks! Great, now I think there is a chance for this to get to work in the near future
Here is the /etc/hosts file:

127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.1.200 server1.mydomain.dk server1

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
~
~
~


Well, it isn't hard to hear that I am very greatfull - I really am, I have been waiting for this since before christmas where the line for the webserver got installed. This morning, those 2 hours I sleept I had a nightmare regarding forwardet ports - it really gets to me. Maybe this is because of all the time thats put into this project

Looking so much forward to hear from you again

Kind Regards,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th April 2013, 20:01
RSInfotech RSInfotech is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Dan, what is the result of dig query on your domain name?

Code:
[user@server ~]# dig yourdomainname.dk
This should resolve to your public IP address and the nameservers you've set up, does it?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RSInfotech For This Useful Post:
danhansen@denmark (8th April 2013)
  #16  
Old 5th April 2013, 21:43
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by markc View Post
I just posted a quick reply and got a nginx error. Quick points...

Use a DMZ if your router supports it. That sends ALL traffic to the internal server.

Set your web server to listen to the internal LAN IP of the server.

Set your DNS TTL to 300 so your resource records propagate in 5 minutes.
Hi Markc,

I saw the other post and replied there - further down I think But forgot to ask about one thing, setting the DNS TTL to 300, do you mean all of them? including the A-record "NS1" which is the Glue-record for the domain used to the nameserver.

Idea: The router/modem from my ISP, has a funny way to set things up. Not at all like Dlink DIR655 a router I used some time ago - Here things were in their right places. In the new router/modem (a Sagem i think) from my ISP (TDC@Denmark) things overlap, is placed umong umrelated things etc. But,
Instead or together with the "Static DNS" --> myserveripnumber 192.168.1.200 , would it help if I try make an "Fixed Connection(transl from danish) " --> MAC-address IPnumber:

[Add connection]
IP adresse: ... - ... - ... - ...
MAC adresse: 00 : 00 : 00 : 00 : 00 : 00

Could this be it? I will not just try because if anyone of you who asked me for screendumps of config files etc. is working on a solution, this would complicate things and result in you wasting your time. I can't se the server and mac-adresse in the list but maybe this is because it is set for static dns, DMZ or for some other reason. I made a ifconfig eth0 in the shell of the server and forund the ethernet mac-adresse there, or so I think it is

Well, I am sitting hear on my a.. and this I will be doing until some magic wizard comes along...

Looking forward to hear from you..

Kind Regards,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 5th April 2013, 22:29
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Exclamation dig mydomain.dk - result (didn't see your post before now! S..t!

Hi,

Thanks!
Didn't se your post before now - and I was sitting here hoping for a repply. Maybe its because I was writing and posting a thread at the same time. Sorry for that, I will try to answer faster and be more alert Anyway,here's the result of:
dig mydomain.dk:

root@server1:/home/administrator# dig mydomain.dk

; <<>> DiG 9.8.1-P1 <<>> mydomain.dk
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 13735
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain.dk. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mydomain.dk. 300 IN A 108.182.178.18

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
mydomain.dk. 300 IN NS ns1.mydomain.dk.
mydomain.dk. 300 IN NS ns2.somednsservice.dk.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.mydomain.dk. 300 IN A 108.182.178.18

;; Query time: 5 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Fri Apr 5 22:05:06 2013
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 106


PS! Due to the politics of submittings domains in the forum I am using "mydomain.dk" as I have seen others do. This is the way to do it, right? Or is it ok to show domains etc? Just qurious

Earlier on there was talk about making the webserver listening for some port, Was this not a possible reason?

And, please look here too - here local ipnumbers has been used in DNS records:
http://www.faqforge.com/wp-content/u...nfig_dns11.png
or
http://www.faqforge.com/category/lin...ls/ispconfig3/ (down the page to: "Setting up email routing to gmail / google apps via ISPConfig 3 >> DNS Zone)


Kind Regards,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 5th April 2013, 23:10
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Exclamation Set your web server to listen to the internal LAN IP of the server.

Quote:
Originally Posted by markc View Post
I just posted a quick reply and got a nginx error. Quick points...

Use a DMZ if your router supports it. That sends ALL traffic to the internal server.

Set your web server to listen to the internal LAN IP of the server.

Set your DNS TTL to 300 so your resource records propagate in 5 minutes.

Hi again,

I repplied beneath this post too, but I am very much interested in your suggestion:

"Set your web server to listen to the internal LAN IP of the server."

Please let me know where this is done?!?


Kind Regards,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 8th April 2013, 18:57
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by markc View Post
Has your router got an option to configure and internal IP as a DMZ? Is so then that will let ALL traffic through to the internal server on your private LAN network. Your external port scan indicates that port 80 is open but that doesn't say whether that is port 80 on the router or the one forwarded to on the internal server.

When you configure the webserver, tell it to listen on the INTERNAL LAN IP and on your linux desktop add "192.168.xx.xx yourdomainname.tld" to /etc/hosts to force your browser to go directly to the webserver on the LAN IP.

Also, when testing your DNS, set all your TTL settings to 300 seconds so any changes propagate within about 5 to 10 minutes.

Hi markc
,
My major problem has been solved!
Qurious, look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...95500#poststop

Regarding the quote:
1. What did you mean by "Set your web server to listen to the internal LAN IP of the server." If it's not the local server ip number, please show me what you mean. Maybe I still need some configuring.
2. To go directly to domain, add "domain.tld 192.168.x.xx" to "/etc/hosts" on desktop.
This I have to do for all the domains I want to go directly to, right? Do I have to make both "domain.tld" and "www.domain.tld" to be able to reach both types?

Looking forward to hear from you.

Kind Regards,
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 8th April 2013, 19:24
danhansen@denmark danhansen@denmark is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Thanks: 39
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
 
Exclamation Repplied in a wrong part of the thread

Hi markc,

I repplied in a wrong part of the thread! Sorry. Just discovered that I've done that several times

Here's my last post, in the right place I hope :
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...95523#poststop

Kind Regards,
Dan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig3 Installation MySQL Login Failure PC Networks HOWTO-Related Questions 0 27th March 2013 04:31
amavis rejects all inbound emails aclhkaclhk Installation/Configuration 5 28th February 2010 04:24
Can all the installation and configuration be automated (Kickstart) gabby Installation/Configuration 0 30th January 2010 19:47
ISPConfig 2.2.14 released till General 48 19th July 2007 23:46
Problem with the apache (I can't start ist) M.Behrens Installation/Configuration 11 31st March 2006 10:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.