Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th March 2013, 14:25
sheshes sheshes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nicosia
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Resolvconf Problem - cannot set nameservers

I am running Ubuntu 12.10 with ISPConfig 3.0.5.1.

I am trying to setup my ISPs nameservers but resolv.conf is never changing. It's stuck on nameserver 127.0.0.1

I tried editing /etc/network/interfaces and inserted dns-nameservers xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx then resolvconf -u and then ifdown eth0 && ifup eth0. No result

I tried editing /etc/resolvconf/resolvconf.d/base with same parameters, again no result.

I tried disabling resolvconf updates as well as edit the dhcpclient.conf in both /etc/dhcp and /etc/dhcp3 with the prepent-domain again no result.

I'm already frustrated enough and cannot think of anything else to try. I tried google but all the solutions proposed are mentioned above and don't work.

Any help is appreciated
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th March 2013, 14:57
DKLeader DKLeader is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ishoej, Denmark
Posts: 115
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do you have a resolv.conf in /etc/?
I am using Debian Squeeze and had to manually add them.
__________________
VoiceMe
Communications


Hosted at :
SuperWeb.dk
a part of VoiceMe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th March 2013, 15:22
sheshes sheshes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nicosia
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yes I do, since ubuntu 12.04 onwards resolv.conf cannot be updated manually!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th March 2013, 18:52
sheshes sheshes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nicosia
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Update: I have removed /etc/resolv.conf and run dpkg-reconfigure resolvconf and answered yes to all of the options. The result was that now /etc/resolv.conf is correctly created as a symlink, but still not able to update it as I want to
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th March 2013, 19:28
arisystems arisystems is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to arisystems
Default

Does the NIC have the public IP4 address. I never used Comcast name server IPs when the NIC is the public facing IP. Post the interfaces file... another set of eyes...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th March 2013, 20:56
TiTex TiTex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cluj-Napoca,Romania
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to TiTex
Default

could it be because you have you NIC configured to get IP from DHCP server ?
if so ... dhclient will automaticly update resolv.conf no matter what you've set manually.

by the way /etc/resolv.conf is a symlink for /etc/resolvconf/run/resolv.conf if i'm not mistaken

so i guess you can solve your problem by removing the symlink and create a normal conf file or add a write protect bit to resolv.conf after you've modified it
Code:
chattr +i /etc/resolv.conf
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th March 2013, 00:13
pititis pititis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: München
Posts: 364
Thanks: 39
Thanked 90 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Quote:
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" >TEST
To add this nameserver:
Quote:
cat TEST | resolvconf -a eth0
To delete this nameserver:
Quote:
cat TEST | resolvconf -d eth0
eth0 = interface

Try it.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pititis For This Useful Post:
sistemas (15th April 2013)
  #8  
Old 1st April 2013, 14:10
sheshes sheshes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nicosia
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

TiTex & Pititis thanks for your answers.

TiTex my interface is set to static with an added dns-nameservers line as man resolvconf states. dhcp is not enabled. I want to make this work the proper way as I do a lot of update && distro upgrades and it keeps breaking up if everything is not done properly.

Pititis I tried what you suggested. Unfortunately nothing is added in /etc/resolv.conf. It's stuck at nameservers 127.0.0.1

any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st April 2013, 14:57
arisystems arisystems is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to arisystems
Default One more time...

Post the interfaces file. Odds are there is a simple error in it. If nothing else I will cut-n-paste it and try it in a server running here.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd April 2013, 17:25
sheshes sheshes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nicosia
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 172.16.2.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 172.16.2.1
network 172.16.2.0
broadcast 172.16.2.255
dns-nameservers 213.140.208.226 213.140.209.226
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending email issue lezelf Installation/Configuration 15 9th August 2011 11:20
setup-swraid1-on-a-running-lvm-system-ubuntu-10.04 - SDB dont boot but SDA yes lucho115 HOWTO-Related Questions 11 20th June 2011 17:22
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.