Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th March 2013, 14:36
onastvar onastvar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 182
Thanks: 57
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Question Subdomain (Vhost)

How should I setup DNS for Subdomain (Vhost)?
__________________
ISPConfig 3.0.5.3 | Debian Wheezy | BIND | Dovecot 1.2.15 | Apache 2.2.16 | MySQL 5.5 | PHP 5.4.4-14
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th March 2013, 15:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Add a dns a-record for the subdomain or a dns cname record.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
onastvar (12th March 2013)
  #3  
Old 13th March 2013, 01:34
onastvar onastvar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 182
Thanks: 57
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Question

Does this CNAME looks okay?
Attached Images
 
__________________
ISPConfig 3.0.5.3 | Debian Wheezy | BIND | Dovecot 1.2.15 | Apache 2.2.16 | MySQL 5.5 | PHP 5.4.4-14
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th March 2013, 08:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

The dot at the end of mydomain.com is missing. If a value of a dns records is a fully qualified doain name, then it has to end with a dot.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
onastvar (13th March 2013)
  #5  
Old 13th March 2013, 18:56
onastvar onastvar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 182
Thanks: 57
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Question

Thank You Till!
DNS settings worked, however I see: "Welcome to your website!" This is the default index page of your website. I'm trying to make mydomain.com/osticket show as support.mydomain.com (see screenshotof my Subdomain Vhost page) anything I'm missing here?
Attached Images
 
__________________
ISPConfig 3.0.5.3 | Debian Wheezy | BIND | Dovecot 1.2.15 | Apache 2.2.16 | MySQL 5.5 | PHP 5.4.4-14
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th March 2013, 09:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

The web folder can not be modified after you created the vhost subdomain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th March 2013, 14:23
onastvar onastvar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 182
Thanks: 57
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I see.

However, why do I see "Welcome to your website!" instead of contents of mydomain.com/osticket under support.mydomain.com?
__________________
ISPConfig 3.0.5.3 | Debian Wheezy | BIND | Dovecot 1.2.15 | Apache 2.2.16 | MySQL 5.5 | PHP 5.4.4-14
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15th March 2013, 13:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Did you replace the default index.html with your own index file?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th March 2013, 15:03
onastvar onastvar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 182
Thanks: 57
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Question

I was trying to make a subdomain (vhost) for an existing web site (i.e. mydoman.com). I installed OsTicket in subfolder of mydomain.com (/web/osticket) and would like to use subdomain http://support.mydomain.com/ instead of http://mydomain.com/osticket

I followed instructions from the new ISPConfig3 manual. I made subdomain (vhost) and entered web folder "osticket" (see post #5 for screenshot) Does anyone know why this setup doesn't work?
__________________
ISPConfig 3.0.5.3 | Debian Wheezy | BIND | Dovecot 1.2.15 | Apache 2.2.16 | MySQL 5.5 | PHP 5.4.4-14
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th March 2013, 10:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

You should have entered web/osticket.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Quijote Shin (20th March 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
subdomain vhost + forced SuExec bug cassus General 2 25th March 2013 10:51
Subdomain vhost pititis Installation/Configuration 2 27th July 2011 19:58
Proper subdomain support. arcain6 Feature Requests 1 28th June 2010 10:15
How Subdomain works (for documentation) moglia Developers' Forum 7 19th June 2010 22:14
vhost problem: one subdomain doesn't respond claudioimai Installation/Configuration 4 20th June 2008 10:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.