Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th March 2013, 15:29
mroppolo mroppolo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can ping, but can not serve website

Hello all -

I changed my ISP provider and am trying to restore my services. I have changed my DNS entry to point my new external IP Address. Time has elapsed for the DNS entry to propagate.

On my Debian server, I can successfully ping my website domain, but when I go to a browser, I get "Page cannot be displayed".

Any thoughts what could cause this ?

Thanks !

Mike
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th March 2013, 15:48
almere almere is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Netherlands, Rotterdam
Posts: 231
Thanks: 20
Thanked 39 Times in 34 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to almere
Default

Could you please give some more information?

Maybe webserver errors? Error, access logs?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th March 2013, 02:09
darinpeterson darinpeterson is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 153
Thanks: 35
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mroppolo View Post
Hello all -

I changed my ISP provider and am trying to restore my services. I have changed my DNS entry to point my new external IP Address. Time has elapsed for the DNS entry to propagate.

On my Debian server, I can successfully ping my website domain, but when I go to a browser, I get "Page cannot be displayed".

Any thoughts what could cause this ?

Thanks !

Mike
Mike,

http://www.dnsexit.com provides a free DNS service. I frequently use this service to connect to my server at home. They also have a dynamic DNS client that you can install that will update your IP address on dnsexit.com for you when/if your IP changes.

If you don't need that, it's still a cool service to make sure you don't have some configuration problem.

Simply set the name servers as specified on their website and set your domain up after you start an account.

I think this should slove your problem.

Good luck!
Darin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
all created domains from different clients point all towards first created website belleview Installation/Configuration 1 9th February 2013 15:47
I need help to debug a slow website vtapas Server Operation 15 10th August 2011 10:50
Multiple Segment Router Setup - Not forwarding Packets jkane1517 Server Operation 4 3rd August 2010 19:48
power failure caused ISPConfig to start up with a weird problem FOBioPatel Installation/Configuration 10 23rd August 2008 01:58
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 19:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.