Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th March 2013, 14:24
codedza codedza is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default All services on single IP?

Hi there

I've bought a cheap VPS with a single IP to test out ISP Config 3. I've installed it using http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...nx-ispconfig-3 and I've managed to get it up and running.

Is it now possible for me to have the web server, mail server and 2 name servers run off this single IP box?

Also, I'm a little confused as to how the extra servers work. What I'm trying to do is have an install running off a single domain, that has ns1 and ns2 registered to it. Then I'd like to add sites to the VPS using those nameservers. Is this also possible? I think I'm a little unclear with the concept of ISPConfig 3, coming from a background of using cPanel where everything is all in one. In my defense, I'd prefer to use ISPConfig 3 for the out of the box support for nginx and php-fpm, which is fantastic!

Thank you!

Last edited by codedza; 13th March 2013 at 14:26. Reason: added more detail
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th March 2013, 14:52
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

Quote:
Is it now possible for me to have the web server, mail server and 2 name servers run off this single IP box?
Sure, thats the default for servers and described in the setup that you used.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th March 2013, 15:04
codedza codedza is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Ok great, then how would I get the nameservers working? I've registered them with the domain registrar, created a site for the domain, and then also created the dns zone for the domain, adding A records for NS1 and NS2 using the single IP's, however it doesn't seem to resolve (I did this 24 hours ago so I'm sure it's propagated)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
single server with 2 IP for all services host Installation/Configuration 7 8th November 2012 10:30
Our mailserver hacked ??? - a lot of SPAM is being send out mazgit Installation/Configuration 9 14th February 2010 14:12
Adding Services Tyilanmenyn Installation/Configuration 2 6th October 2009 15:39
Implement single firewall login for access to all ports on LAN? ripwit Installation/Configuration 1 29th August 2007 06:03
all services seem to be offline in the services dialog! hkaiser Installation/Configuration 9 7th June 2007 00:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.