Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st February 2013, 12:22
theroot theroot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Connect a domain name to external host via ISPConfig

hi everyone

i have a domain site.com on a domain names registrar and i want to connect a subdomain exemple.site.com to my space in a VPS.. the VPS owner use ISPConfig in this server ! and i dont now much about this Cpanel (ispconfig)
sow i dont know how can i configur DNS in my domain name controle panel, and i dont know what should i do in ISPConfig for connect it to my domain (exemple.site.com)
for more info this is my information in the VPS by ispconfig :

username : web445_name (name is my chosing name )
db : web445_dbnumber (number is my perso nember )
derectory root: /data01/web/www/clients/client0/web445/web
ftpuser: the same of my username


sow, this is the configuration of my host space in this VPS
what should i do ?
any help please ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st February 2013, 12:35
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
Default

1) Add a DNS A-Record for "exemple" in the dns zone "site.com" which points to the IP address of your vps.

2) Then add either a new website in ispconfig were you enter "exemple.site.com" in the domain field to create a nwe site or add a subdomain for "exemple.site.com" if thsi subdomain shall point to a exsiting website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st February 2013, 12:53
theroot theroot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you very much
i have tried to do this with "A record" did not work well..
where it gives me the default page of the server
& does not explore my files existing in :
/data01/web/www/clients/client0/web445/web

so, any one you mean ? :
CNAME record
A record
AAAA record
MX record
SRV record

or any other ?

thank you again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st February 2013, 12:57
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,811
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,339 Times in 4,188 Posts
 
Default

Add a A-record like I explained above, no other records.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ispconfig 3 cant receive emails lishaw1968 Installation/Configuration 25 19th August 2013 10:37
Mail hold in Q fisherofer Installation/Configuration 1 5th February 2012 13:29
can't send/receive mail fedora 12 - ispconfig 3 ev0css Installation/Configuration 9 17th May 2010 21:44
E-mail server receive and send spams Mole Installation/Configuration 12 19th April 2010 11:03
Cannot send or receive mail farbrorc Installation/Configuration 6 24th January 2010 11:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.