Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th February 2013, 19:34
JasonDD JasonDD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default New Server Not working as intended...

Hi HowToForge Forum

I hope you can help as I'm having an absolute nightmare of a couple of days.

I've just purchased a server from OVH and asked for ISPConfig as my control panel. It's not a control I've used before but I've read so much about it over the last couple of years I believed it would be sensible to go with it. Just for the record I am not using the DNS portion of the server as I prefer to keep that seperate. I have changed the corresponding host entries to point to this new server IP though.

I always dive in cautiously on a new server and just add a couple of domains to learn about how it works.

I added a "client" to the system - Client1

then added a new site MySite1.dom to the Sites section under Client1

I then added a new SSH user Client1MySite1DOM

I sshed in, checked i was in the right directory

/var/www/clients/client1/webN/web

(NB WebN is my abbreviation not literal)

and amended the index.html to test it resolves and is mapped correctly. It was - WoooHooo

I then added Site2.dom to the Sites section also under Client1.

I added a new SSH user - Client1MySite2Dom

I amended the index.html file for this user after also checking I was in the right directory - I was, Web(N+1)

But..... although the index page was now showing correctly for Site2.dom it was also changed for Site1.dom

I was bemused!

I deleted everything and tried again.

It seems that what ever site I add it becomes the default for all other sites, almost as if each new site I add is a symlink for all other sites.

I'm sure I am being an idiot (as I am quite qualified in that regard) but I can't see where or how.

Do you have any ideas, cos I'd gratefully receive them

Thanks

Jason
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th February 2013, 12:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,716 Times in 2,558 Posts
Default

Did you select * or a specific IP address for each web site? You should add your IPs (under System), so that you can select them for a web site (instead of *).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th February 2013, 12:51
JasonDD JasonDD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko

thanks for taking the time to respond.

The server, at present, only has one IP assigned to it. It is likely I'll add more in time but want to run with the bare minimum while I learn about the CP and new server set up.

I've just checked under the sites section and added both these 2 test domains under the same specific IP rather than *

EG - Domain1.Dom and Domain2.dom

Server - TheServer.Dom
Client: Client1
IP-Address: 111.222.333.444
domain: Domain1.Dom

Server - TheServer.Dom
Client: Client1
IP-Address: 111.222.333.444
domain: Domain2.Dom

I know this may well be a silly question nowadays but surely http1.1 name based hosting is used and I don't need a separate IP per site do I?

Thanks again for your help and once again my apologies for what I am sure will end up being a silly mistake on my end.

Jason
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th February 2013, 11:57
JasonDD JasonDD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK, I know this is a tough one.

Can anyone send me their support rates to try and fix this please?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th February 2013, 13:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,340
Thanks: 810
Thanked 5,173 Times in 4,055 Posts
Default

You can reach the ISPConfig support here:

http://support.projektfarm.com
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th February 2013, 18:58
JasonDD JasonDD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thank you Till.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
Problem with mail server and subdomains MyKE General 7 26th February 2010 10:18
Problem with keeping Apache alive bobeq Server Operation 3 29th November 2007 16:11
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 22:53
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 17:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.