#1  
Old 7th August 2006, 03:39
stealth stealth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Adding modules to Apache2

I have a SUSE 10.1 server with ISPConfig, Apache2, MYSQL5,PHP5, Postfix and proftpd. I would like to know how to install the mod_access module into apache2 without breaking it.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by stealth; 7th August 2006 at 03:42.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th August 2006, 16:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I think it should already be installed. Isn't it in your Apache configuration? If not, then use yast and search for an appropriate package.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th August 2006, 01:59
stealth stealth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How would I go about adding mod_access to apache2 using YAST. mod_access does not seem to be installed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th August 2006, 14:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Run
Code:
yast
and go to Software -> Software Management and use the search function.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st August 2006, 04:31
stealth stealth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have been unable to find mod_access using yast. Yast told me it couldn't find mod_access. It looks like the install mirror i'm using doesn't have mod_access. Does anyone know any mirrors that has mod_access on it?.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st August 2006, 06:29
themachine themachine is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mod_access is very standard. Are you certain this is not included already? I am not certain of where the files are located/laid out in SuSE but in RedHat it is loaded by default in '/etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf':

Code:
[root@vs03 /]# cat /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf | grep -i mod_access
LoadModule access_module modules/mod_access.so
If you don't find it there, grep everything for it:


Code:
[root@vs03 /]# grep -ri "mod_access" /etc/httpd/*
/etc/httpd/build/config_vars.mk:MOD_ACCESS_LDFLAGS =
/etc/httpd/build/config_vars.mk:MOD_ACCESS_LIBS =
/etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf:LoadModule access_module modules/mod_access.so
Binary file /etc/httpd/modules/mod_access.so matches

If the configuration is not there, but the 'mod_access.so' module is, then simply add the configuration to load it:

Code:
LoadModule access_module </path/to/modules/dir/mod_access.so
__________________
themachine
5dollarwhitebox.org
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st August 2006, 07:51
stealth stealth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mod_access.so file doesn't exist so I would need to install it and it doesn't appear in any config files.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st August 2006, 08:31
themachine themachine is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

http://apache.hoxt.com/tomcat/tomcat...eployer.tar.gz


I have a hard time believing that mod_access is not available... even by default. Have you tried to even use the directives for mod_access?

Setup a basic directive to test it:

Code:
<Directory "/path/to/some/directory">
     Order Deny,Allow 
     Deny from all
</Directory>

After restarting Apache, acess to the Directory should be denid. If it is... Waallllaaaa mod_access is already enabled. If it doesn't, you should see something in the Error Log or even when restarting Apache.

Otherwise... you'll need to read the documentation for SuSE as I haven't run it for a long time. Any other distro has mod_access enabled by default... so I think you may be over looking something.
__________________
themachine
5dollarwhitebox.org
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st August 2006, 09:06
stealth stealth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok in that case mod_access is installed and working.

I would like to have a directory on one of the virtual websites to be able deny access to the public and only allow access from the internal network. I would like to be able to do this using .htaccess file.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd August 2006, 13:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Try this in your .htaccess file:

Code:
Order Deny,Allow
Deny from all
Allow from Allow from 192.168.0.0/255.255.255.0
Of course, you must change the network settings in there to your needs.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSI with Apache2 on Debian jchaven Server Operation 7 25th August 2008 17:06
PHP on Apache2 no longer works after ISPconfig azorman Installation/Configuration 6 23rd July 2006 22:06
apache2 with mod_cache and mod_mem_cache Ovidiu Server Operation 3 6th April 2006 17:37
Big problem with apache2 on Ubuntu piratta Installation/Configuration 2 18th January 2006 17:29
Adding new ip's to server phamels Installation/Configuration 4 18th October 2005 09:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.