#1  
Old 14th May 2014, 22:38
bambam82 bambam82 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 18
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default DNS service added later on

I have a 2 server setup.
1. All services, but mail and DNS
2. Mail service only

Before I just used the only service, to organize my DNS. I thought it was a good idea to install the DNS portion and to inject the DNS information myself and use the 'domain provider' as my backups....

After installing bind as per howto for wheezy and enabling the DNS support in ISPconfig, it doesn't seem to work. It created everything inside ISPconfig, though it doesn't create the files in the /etc/bind/ directory.

I've created a test server (in LXC, single server, debian wheezy) and the files are created correctly (though with .err at the end, but that is sort of logical due to the recursive checks ending elsewhere).
Is there something extra that i need to do, to tell ISPconfig that it should create the files etc...
When creating the Zones in ISPconfig i don't receive any error messages in syslog.

i hope it makes sense.

Hint to anyone else. Just install all the service and perhaps don't use them at the moment, though so you can when you want to.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th May 2014, 07:56
srijan srijan is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 731
Thanks: 5
Thanked 96 Times in 93 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to srijan
Default

Hi

I will recommend you to update the ISPconfig with new DNS services, download the latest ISPconfg installer from here. In the install directory use code

Quote:
cd /tmp
wget http://www.ispconfig.org/downloads/I...-stable.tar.gz
tar xvfz ISPConfig-3-stable.tar.gz
cd ispconfig3_install/install
php -q update.php
Further to use DNS its highly reccomended to use DNS wizard ISPConfig webinterface to make the DNS operations to run successfully
__________________
Br//
Srijan
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to srijan For This Useful Post:
bambam82 (20th May 2014)
  #3  
Old 20th May 2014, 11:32
bambam82 bambam82 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 18
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default thanks

I'd just like to mention that your solution worked.
I ran the update and reconfigured the services. Now it is creating the files for the DNS correctly.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bind, dns, install, named, wheezy

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When adding a new DNS zona via wizard only one NS record added grungy Installation/Configuration 1 19th March 2014 20:56
network issues now it says "401 The web site is blocked by administrator" Check General 3 26th February 2008 14:22
Set Up Ubuntu-Server 6.10 As A Firewall/Gateway knowram Installation/Configuration 10 13th June 2007 01:37
How to host own DNS Service in remote ISPConfig server? zenny Installation/Configuration 3 4th January 2007 15:15
php script injections Grizzly General 21 18th July 2006 08:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.