Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th October 2006, 22:03
emil2k emil2k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face Help with Home Servers Setup

Hello Guys,

I'm trying to set up three servers at home (T1 Connected) load balanced to handle one of my websites and a couple of my friends smaller websites, the servers I'm planning to purchase are Dell SC1420 models. I just have a few questions from the more experienced people around here since this the first time I'm going to try to move away from my dedicated host provider (Layered Tech) and try to set up the servers at home...

What Linux would you recommend for this and why? I currently have CDs for SUSE 10.1 and Ubuntu, and my current OS on my dedicated servers are Fedora Core 4.

During installations how tos on how forge I keep seeing a step like this...

Quote:
On to the network settings. The default setting here seems to be to configure the network interfaces with DHCP, but we are installing a server, so static IP addresses are not a bad idea... Click on the Edit button at the top right. In the window that pops up uncheck Configure using DHCP and give your network card a static IP address (in this tutorial I'm using the IP address 192.168.0.100 for demonstration purposes):



Set the hostname manually, e.g. server1.example.com, and enter a gateway (e.g. 192.168.0.1) and up to three DNS servers (e.g. 145.253.2.75 and 193.174.32.18):


There is a couple of things I would like to clear up and understand about this network configurations since it is the part that I don't seem to understand very well.

How do I get the values for IP Address, Netmask, Primary DNS, Secondary DNS, Tertiary DNS, and Gateway? And what do some of them do?

When setting the hostname...
Does this have the same effect as nameserver value like NS1.DOMAIN.COM that is entered in domain registrars to point a domain to the site?

Should I put the domain as my main site? And then do I have to some how point the domain of the site towards the server or something for it to work properly for that domain.

Does the host value have any signifcance outside the network, like domain wise if I have three servers for one site and someone chooses to go to a direct address like server2.domain.com instead of domain.com will they see anything different?

Anyways any other instructions or recommendations regarding setting up the 3 server setup I would really appreciate it.

Thanks,
Emil
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th October 2006, 22:20
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

For a webserver Debian 3.1, codename Sarge is a very good choice.

It is very stable and you can rely on Debian!
Debian has also a great package system.
If you choose for Debian, enter "linux26" on the very first screen, so you can use the Linux 2.6 kernel series instead of 2.4.

I can explain you a lot of things about setting up your system, but if you follow Falko's how to for setting up your perfect server, all your questions will be answered.

I'm using a Dell SC 1425 server with RAID 1 with Debian Sarge (unofficial 64 bit) and i was never disappointed!

Recommended!
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th October 2006, 22:37
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Go for debian sarge if you plan to operate it just as a server.... if you also want to use it as a desktop then go for ubuntu or fc...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th October 2006, 22:53
edge edge is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,035
Thanks: 267
Thanked 153 Times in 133 Posts
Default

Same here.. I have 3 Dell PowerEdge SC1425, and all are using Debian Sarge!
Two of the SC1425's are using a 3Ware RAID card, that is set to RAID 1.

Hans.. Are you using an extra RAID card, or are you using the SC1425 (software) RAID card that is within the SC1425?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th October 2006, 22:58
emil2k emil2k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I will check out Debian, where is a reliable place where I can order its installation CDs for the cheapest price, I don't like to burn the CDs don't trust myself

Anyways can someone also clear up the other questions regarding the 3 server setup.

Also would like to know if there is a good book or guide specifically for learning setting up web hosting clusters and setups, I like how tos but they don't really teach, I would also like to understand what the settings mean, any books or site s that you'll could recommend?

Emil
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th October 2006, 23:05
emil2k emil2k is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edge
Same here.. I have 3 Dell PowerEdge SC1425, and all are using Debian Sarge!
Two of the SC1425's are using a 3Ware RAID card, that is set to RAID 1.

Hans.. Are you using an extra RAID card, or are you using the SC1425 (software) RAID card that is within the SC1425?
Is there a lot of difference between SC1420 and SC1425 except for the space saving, as it is blade?

Cause the SC1420s I'm getting have one XEON 2.8 800FSB and 2GB mem and one and 80GB harddrive for $709 + tax, SC1425 seems to be a lot more then that...

Also is it better to have Dual Processors for $1000 or two servers for $1500 if space not really an issue?

Emil
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th October 2006, 23:15
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edge
Hans.. Are you using an extra RAID card, or are you using the SC1425 (software) RAID card that is within the SC1425?
I am using software RAID (1) which came with Debian Sarge unofficial 64 bit.
The kernel i am using is 2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp because i have 2 Xeon's on board.

Everything is stable from the beginning, i am really happy with Debian.

I do not know exactly the differences between the SC1420 and SC1425 but test your server first before using it in a production environment.
If you have SATA drive(s) on board, use the 2.6 series Linux kernel.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting

Last edited by Hans; 6th October 2006 at 23:19.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th October 2006, 23:26
edge edge is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,035
Thanks: 267
Thanked 153 Times in 133 Posts
Default

I see.. I'm still with "2.6.8-3-686-smp", as some of my aps that I'm using on the server do not like 64 bit :/

re: 2 Xeon's..

Same here :-)... That is 2 Xeon's in each server.. 2 + 2 + 2 = 6, and than I;m not counting the SMP part :-)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th October 2006, 23:34
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

The SC 1425's are really nice!
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th October 2006, 14:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emil2k
What Linux would you recommend for this and why? I currently have CDs for SUSE 10.1 and Ubuntu, and my current OS on my dedicated servers are Fedora Core 4.
Debian because it's stable and has the best package management (apt). Don't use SuSE 10.1. I have the feeling that SuSE is getting worse from version to version...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up a backup mail server setup with two installations of ISPConfig zitch Tips/Tricks/Mods 7 30th December 2006 10:07
How to setup external mail servers? mxc Installation/Configuration 1 16th July 2006 12:39
mail problem - authentication (postfix,ISPconfig) marclar General 57 24th June 2006 16:24
Local-Only Web Host Setup demon0 Server Operation 2 25th January 2006 22:32
Attempting The Perfect Setup (To Some Extent) PsyVision HOWTO-Related Questions 3 3rd November 2005 11:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.