Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th December 2012, 16:01
aldo aldo is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 98
Thanks: 35
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Ruby on Rails and ISPConfig3 on Squeeze

I would like to use Ruby on Rails in some site managed with ISPConfig3 (on Debian 6 Squeeze).

I found these Howtos:
http://www.howtoforge.com/getting-st...-ruby-on-rails
http://www.howtoforge.com/ruby_on_rails_debian_etch

The first one is a "getting started" that does not refer to ISPConfig.
The second one, that is very close to my needs, involves the installation of MySQL, which I have already installed, and it is a little dated, so I'm afraid of messing up my installation.

So I am looking for info/docs on installing Ruby 1.9.3 and Ruby on Rails on a site managed by ISPConfig3.

Any help will be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th December 2012, 14:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

I'm not RoR user, so I can't tell, but if you want to go sure, create a virtual test machine (e.g. in VirtualBox) and test it out.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
aldo (10th December 2012)
  #3  
Old 10th December 2012, 18:56
aldo aldo is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 98
Thanks: 35
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

In my ISPConfig3 installation, VServer is not available even if enabled in System> Server services.

I noticed that there is a checkbox in the website configuration labeled "Ruby" which should enable Ruby on a single site, and there is /usr/lib/ruby/1.8.

If so, could it be enough to install Ruby 1.9?

Since ISPConfig overwrites the Apache configuration, perhaps there is also this problem.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th December 2012, 10:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aldo View Post
In my ISPConfig3 installation, VServer is not available even if enabled in System> Server services.
I'm not referring to the VServer module.

Install VirtualBox on your desktop PC and create a virtual machine with ISPConfig on it so that you can test RoR in that VM.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
debian, ispconfig3, rails, ruby, squeeze

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running ruby globally without ISPC3 option to disable per host Robain Installation/Configuration 1 24th February 2010 08:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.