About three months ago I decided to set up a Ubuntu server complete with mail, web and ftp services. Not for any particular reason other than I just wanted to do it. I managed to get the everything up and running so have been looking at some add-ons, one of which is phpbb3.
It's up and running and I beleived everything was fine until yesterday when suddently there was a flurry of activity on this otherwise quite system. Just total nonsense was posted in the single forum from a variety of users (all of whom registered). I nuked the whole lot, locked down the forums a bit more but now continually get access attempts as follows:
Code:
178.137.165.56 - - [01/Dec/2012:22:21:44 -0500] "GET /phpbb/index.php HTTP/1.0" 200 6464 "http://www.mydomain.com/phpbb/index.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB7.3; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1; AskTbCFTP2V5/5.14.1.20007)"
178.137.165.56 - - [01/Dec/2012:22:21:44 -0500] "GET /phpbb/index.php HTTP/1.0" 200 6464 "http://www.mydomain.com/phpbb/index.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB7.3; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1; AskTbCFTP2V5/5.14.1.20007)"
178.137.165.56 - - [01/Dec/2012:22:21:45 -0500] "GET /phpbb/index.php HTTP/1.0" 200 6464 "http://www.mydomain.com/index.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB7.3; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1; AskTbCFTP2V5/5.14.1.20007)"
178.137.165.56 - - [01/Dec/2012:22:21:45 -0500] "GET /phpbb/index.php HTTP/1.0" 200 6464 "http://www.mydomain.com/index.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB7.3; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1; AskTbCFTP2V5/5.14.1.20007)"
178.137.165.56 - - [01/Dec/2012:22:21:45 -0500] "GET /phpbb/index.php HTTP/1.0" 200 6464 "http://www.mydomain.com/index.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; GTB7.3; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1; AskTbCFTP2V5/5.14.1.20007)"
I've tried adding that IP address to the PHPBB "IP Ban" list. Tried adding it to an .htaccess file both in the root web directory and in the /usr/share/phpbb3/www directory... that didn't work either. I've even entered the IP address in the "advanced settings" of the router's "Inbound Filter" settings to deny access. Not even that worked.
It's like the IP address being reported in the apache2/access.log file isn't accurate.
I'm at a total loss......
Help! Au secour!
Recent comments
1 day 3 hours ago
1 day 5 hours ago
1 day 17 hours ago
1 day 20 hours ago
2 days 17 min ago
2 days 6 hours ago
2 days 15 hours ago
2 days 17 hours ago
3 days 1 hour ago
3 days 3 hours ago