Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th May 2014, 18:06
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Exclamation URGENT! Cannot add secondary server to ISPConfig 3 installl

Hi all,

Im struggling to add a secondary server to make a multi server environment.

I had them set up before but in the process of upgrading to debian 7 i managed to break it majorly so im back to reinstalling

The problem im having is that during the ispconfig setup when it asks for the MASTER server details it is saying it cannot connect.

I have the firewall totally open, mysql my.cnf set as #bind 127.0.0.1 so it listens on everthing ive read others posts but it just aint wokring

I need to get this set up asap as its my secondary name server and my clients cannot swap name servers until this is active again.

both hostname and hostname -f say the same thing (ns1.doman.com on master, ns2.domain.com 2nd nameserver)

I just cant find what im doing wrong
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th May 2014, 18:17
diablo666 diablo666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 97
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Try to check if mysql is reachable in the remote host

Code:
nmap -p 3306 XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
he had to look something like

Code:
Host is up (0.00010s latency).
PORT     STATE SERVICE
3306/tcp open  mysql
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th May 2014, 18:42
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo666 View Post
Try to check if mysql is reachable in the remote host

Code:
nmap -p 3306 XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
i get this:
Code:
Starting Nmap 6.00 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2014-05-05 16:31 BST
route_dst_netlink: can't find interface "venet0"
says the same on both the master and the new server

Forgot to mention its a vps
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th May 2014, 21:08
diablo666 diablo666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 97
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Ah ok, maybe nmap not working on some vps, heappen to me too....

Try this

Code:
root@ns2:~# telnet xxx.xxx.xxx.xxxx 3306
you should see something like this

Code:
Trying xxx.xxx.xxx.xxxx...
Connected to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxxx.
Escape character is '^]'.
S
5.5.34-31.1-log
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th May 2014, 23:38
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diablo666 View Post
Ah ok, maybe nmap not working on some vps, heappen to me too....

Try this

Code:
root@ns2:~# telnet xxx.xxx.xxx.xxxx 3306
you should see something like this

Code:
Trying xxx.xxx.xxx.xxxx...
Connected to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxxx.
Escape character is '^]'.
S
5.5.34-31.1-log
thanks for your help i now get this
Code:
root@ns2:/tmp/ispconfig3_install/install# telnet ns1.mdhosting.co.uk 3306
Trying 78.129.133.84...
Connected to ns1.mdhosting.co.uk.
Escape character is '^]'.
T
5.5.37-0+wheezy1{W"BdTTr"PJe>F%"|j"mysql_native_passwordPuTTYConnection closed by foreign host.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th May 2014, 11:01
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 932
Thanks: 16
Thanked 264 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Just a thought:
Did you create a mysql root user that has access rights from other hosts than localhost?
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th May 2014, 12:44
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I've followed the perfect server multiserver guides (on mobile will link later). I had it all connected and working fine before I had to reinstall.

Just can't see why it's failing. I can't see anything in the logs either

It wouldn't make a difference if I've already got active websites?

Last edited by ginner159; 6th May 2014 at 12:49. Reason: Last question added
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th May 2014, 13:32
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 932
Thanks: 16
Thanked 264 Times in 208 Posts
Default

What about
Code:
SHOW GRANTS FOR 'root'@'%';
and
Code:
SHOW GRANTS FOR 'root'@'localhost';
in mysql on the master?
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th May 2014, 12:51
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Will try later tonight (been busy doin family stuff)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th May 2014, 11:34
ginner159 ginner159 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Silsden, UK
Posts: 116
Thanks: 29
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Croydon View Post
What about
Code:
SHOW GRANTS FOR 'root'@'%';
Code:
ERROR 1141 (42000): There is no such grant defined for user 'root' on host '%'
and

Quote:
Code:
SHOW GRANTS FOR 'root'@'localhost';
in mysql on the master?
Code:
SHOW GRANTS FOR 'root'@'localhost';
+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Grants for root@localhost                                                                                                              |
+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO 'root'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY PASSWORD '*--removed obvs--*' WITH GRANT OPTION |
| GRANT PROXY ON ''@'' TO 'root'@'localhost' WITH GRANT OPTION                                                                           |
+----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
2 rows in set (0.00 sec)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
installation error, ispconfig 3, name server

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SMTP Error (550): Failed to add recipient. User unknown in virtual mailbox table. wewanwang ISPConfig 3 Priority Support 9 21st April 2014 19:12
help cant access anything locally or from ip jimmie Installation/Configuration 14 5th March 2013 08:58
Virtual Users+Postfix+Courier+CentOS problem telnet localhost 25 stinson HOWTO-Related Questions 11 5th February 2011 14:57
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 17:59
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 19:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.