#1  
Old 1st December 2012, 07:24
coffeecup coffeecup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ubuntu 12.10

Hi there people how are you ?
My name is Mark and im new to the forums,i am also new at linux in general and servers also.

i have been trying to follow
The Perfect Server - Ubuntu 12.10 (Apache2, BIND, Dovecot, ISPConfig 3)


And would aprciate some help if possible

It is most proberly somthing simple but i have trie dal sorts to try and sort it.

i am doing the following

vi /etc/network/interfaces


i delete everythign that is there. then replace it with

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.0.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0
broadcast 192.168.0.255
gateway 192.168.0.1
dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4


I am with bt buissness and have 5 static ips and have a bt home hub 3

im a bit confused as to what i put in the information below

iface eth0 inet static
address 217.44.79.241 <<i put my static ip here ?
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0 <<no idea what i put here
broadcast 192.168.0.255 <<no idea what i put here
gateway 192.168.0.1 <<no idea what i put here
dns-nameservers 62.6.40.162 194.74.65.69 <<



All help would be greatfull
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st December 2012, 18:03
coffeecup coffeecup is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No one can help me ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd December 2012, 12:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeecup View Post
im a bit confused as to what i put in the information below

iface eth0 inet static
address 217.44.79.241 <<i put my static ip here ?
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.0.0 <<no idea what i put here
broadcast 192.168.0.255 <<no idea what i put here
gateway 192.168.0.1 <<no idea what i put here
dns-nameservers 62.6.40.162 194.74.65.69 <<



All help would be greatfull
Did your ISP give you some network details (such as gateway, network, etc.)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem send/receive Courier+Postfix+Squirrelmail Pirk Installation/Configuration 2 21st May 2010 13:26
Connection timed out on intermail outgoing mails gouravgarg Server Operation 6 5th March 2010 20:31
Unbale to login to Postfix from webmail wasimriz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 6th April 2009 13:49
Problem on restart bind9 satimis Server Operation 6 30th October 2007 02:01
Log for Debugging jwan Installation/Configuration 5 27th October 2006 14:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.