Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st August 2006, 19:34
mandrakethepenguin mandrakethepenguin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Quota problem on ubuntu 6.06 perfect setup.

Hi!

I get an error when I execute the command
Code:
mount -o remount /
when installing quota. I've always had problems with mount on my hard drive. It is a Western Digital 200GB Serial ATA drive. Which reminds me that whenever my kernel boots, it says
Code:
ata2: disabling port
. Right now my xfs file system is read only, but I can access it from KNOPPIX live cd.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd August 2006, 14:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mandrakethepenguin
Hi!

I get an error when I execute the command
Code:
mount -o remount /
when installing quota.
What's the exact error message?
If the mount command doesn't work, try to reboot your machine (instead of running the mount command). That should work then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mandrakethepenguin
Right now my xfs file system is read only, but I can access it from KNOPPIX live cd.
I'm not quite sure if quota works flawlessly on XFS...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd August 2006, 18:05
mandrakethepenguin mandrakethepenguin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It says
Code:
mount: / is already unmounted, or bad argument
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd August 2006, 16:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Ok, then run
Code:
shutdown -r now
instead of
Code:
mount -o remount /
Afterwards, you can go on with your quota configuration.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd August 2006, 17:34
mandrakethepenguin mandrakethepenguin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks a lot Falko. That did the trick.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How stable/secure is the server after the Perfect Setup (Ubuntu 6.06) install? carloscastaneda HOWTO-Related Questions 6 3rd February 2007 19:34
Perfect Install - Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Questions Anim HOWTO-Related Questions 123 1st October 2006 14:02
Help with The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.06 LTS Server LinuxNewb HOWTO-Related Questions 6 30th July 2006 14:43
Having Problems loging into Mysql Database Ubuntu 6.06 Perfect Setup badgerbox76 Installation/Configuration 2 22nd June 2006 00:00
HOWTO The Perfect Setup - Ubuntu 6.06 LTS Server mikeeblau Installation/Configuration 4 12th June 2006 15:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.