Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st July 2006, 14:55
schmidtedv schmidtedv is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany, Kaarst
Posts: 152
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to schmidtedv Send a message via Skype™ to schmidtedv
Default HowTo configure Outlook (FIXED)

Well,
I'm having difficulties sending Mails, so I guess there must be something wrong...

lets say server is www.xyz.de...

Username as in ISPConfig would be web2_002
Password lets say is Dingdong

SMTP and POP3 would be mail.xyz.de ?

This config brings me the wrong username or password window for smtp in Outlook....same for normal pop3-account and if I would try to use it as Imap-account.

Before I would think of an configuration-error or missbehavior in ISPConfig, I thought, I did something wrong, so, is there a manual, what I would have to enter for username, password, smtp, pop3, authentification or even SSL to get/send my mails?

Last edited by schmidtedv; 23rd August 2006 at 14:14.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st July 2006, 15:20
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

I would do the following options in case of POP3:

Username: web2_002
Password: Dingdong
SMTP AND POP3: Any DNS-Name pointing to your servers IP (or the IP directly)

Then you should go to "advanced options" or sth. like that, where you have to define authentication for smpt-Server and check the radio "same as for POP3" or anything like that.

That should work fine, I had no problems with that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st July 2006, 18:09
schmidtedv schmidtedv is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany, Kaarst
Posts: 152
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to schmidtedv Send a message via Skype™ to schmidtedv
Default

...that might work...but I shouldn't give customers the IP in normal case, there should be their domain in smtp and pop...shouldn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st August 2006, 07:58
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,667
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,317 Times in 4,170 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtedv
...that might work...but I shouldn't give customers the IP in normal case, there should be their domain in smtp and pop...shouldn't it?
That's up to you. Either any domain that points to your server or the IP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st August 2006, 09:01
schmidtedv schmidtedv is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany, Kaarst
Posts: 152
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to schmidtedv Send a message via Skype™ to schmidtedv
Default

okok, but then, would it have to be in format mail.xyz.de with debian 3.1 howto for smtp and pop3? I did this and authorisation didn't work for smtp...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st August 2006, 09:05
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,667
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,317 Times in 4,170 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtedv
okok, but then, would it have to be in format mail.xyz.de with debian 3.1 howto for smtp and pop3?
No. You can use ANY domain that points to your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th August 2006, 08:39
schmidtedv schmidtedv is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany, Kaarst
Posts: 152
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to schmidtedv Send a message via Skype™ to schmidtedv
Default

ok, well, then there seems to be something wrong...I put the FQDN as smtp and IMAP, both tried with and without SSL, but it doesn't work.

The Domain has it's own IP (from 3) and in DNS-Manager the Nameservers are (is that correct?) both the same (FQDN from first IP I used and installed ISPConfig on). In the Records the IP for the Domain, I'm testing, is the one I wanted this Domain to be onand the only other entrance here is the Mailserver which again points with it's FQDN to the main ISPConfig-IP/Domain.

I can use RoundCube without errors, but to get in from the outside, there seems something misconfigured by me?

The provider gave me for the 3 IP's 3 own Reserve-DNS entrances....maybe I would have to use the one for the particular Domain/IP in the Records?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th August 2006, 16:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Can you post your public IP addresses here? Did you try the IP addresses in your email client (to see if it works)?
What's the domain name you're trying to set this up for?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th August 2006, 18:27
schmidtedv schmidtedv is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany, Kaarst
Posts: 152
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to schmidtedv Send a message via Skype™ to schmidtedv
Default

I didn't tried the IP's, only the FQDN for the Main-IP...should I? Well, IP is 84.16.xxx (but I will take that out again, becaouse I get many hackers-login-tries allready...)

Last edited by schmidtedv; 15th August 2006 at 20:47.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th August 2006, 18:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
 
Default

Yes, try your IP address. IF this doesn't work, then it's not a problem with DNS, otherwise it most probably is.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final hurdle: How to generate SSL Certificate for Outlook? jimwil Installation/Configuration 8 28th June 2008 07:11
Howto configure for secondary nameserver? kanour Installation/Configuration 5 31st October 2006 18:19
Minor suggestion for debian perfect howto tdd_topdog Suggest HOWTO 2 12th July 2006 05:20
Outlook 2003 with Postfix loses Mail Quietly lost connection after AUTH Nerd4Rent Server Operation 1 27th June 2006 12:26
Samba as a PDC HOWTO help jesterking HOWTO-Related Questions 2 23rd February 2006 19:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.