Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st July 2010, 09:01
ddelbia ddelbia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Set maximum fcgi processes per site/customer/reseller

Hi, I'm wondering if it will be possibile to set maximum fcgi processes per site/customer/reseller
Thank you!
Denis
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st July 2010, 13:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

This setting has to be 1 if you use fcgi on a apache webserver as apache uses only one fcgi process per apache child. So setting this per client or site does not makes any sense, as this value has to be 1. Settingit to a value > 1 will just use more ram without any benefit, as the other fcgi childs will never be used.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st July 2010, 14:46
ddelbia ddelbia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, thanks Till, I admit I don't know how fcgi works exactly, but I'd like to limit the max simultaneos connections for a site or group of sites and I thinked it should be easy with fcgi.
Hope you understood my english
Denis
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st July 2010, 14:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

The max. simultanious connections can not be limited by changing the number of fcgi processes.

You might want to take a look at e.g. mod_bwshare:

http://www.topology.org/src/bwshare/README.html
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
ddelbia (1st July 2010)
  #5  
Old 12th September 2011, 17:03
Rupert Rupert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hello,

do you mean I have to set FcgidMaxProcesses to 1?
I have to much fcgid process per site, sometimes 100,
and its killing my server.


thnx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th September 2011, 17:06
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

Yes, set the number of fcgi processes started by mod_fcgi to 1. The reason is that apache mod_fcgi spawns already one process per apache child so that php does not have to spawn its own childs. If you would spawn more processes, then they will not get used by apache.

For details on the config options, see here:

http://httpd.apache.org/mod_fcgid/mod/mod_fcgid.html
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
JeffryL (14th October 2012)
  #7  
Old 13th September 2011, 07:58
Rupert Rupert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

So 1 cgi process can handle multiple connections to the site?
I thought it start 1 process per pageview?
I have about 100+ Vhosts on that server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th September 2011, 09:36
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,386 Times in 4,231 Posts
Default

These are fcgi processes and not cgi processes. The difference is that CGI processes are started one per pageview and terminate afterwards while fcgi processes stay in memory and can process multiple pageviews.

Quote:
I have about 100+ Vhosts on that server
That arent that many for a modern server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th October 2012, 16:17
JeffryL JeffryL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 36
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I followed your advice and indeed it's working but I'm still a bit confused since on all other sites I've visited recommended settings are much higher for FcgidMaxProcesses. Is this a difference in setup or are others just being silly (since you answered apache won't take advantage of the spawned php processes?)

Thanks anyway
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yum issues el-sid Installation/Configuration 4 10th August 2011 11:01
Can't access to my website - after install problem pallermo Installation/Configuration 18 4th June 2010 13:29
ISPConfig3 Installed/But My Mail Client is rejecting addresses LinuxGuyMT Installation/Configuration 17 21st December 2009 10:35
Attacks on MTA dclardy Installation/Configuration 4 29th September 2009 16:50
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.