#1  
Old 30th July 2006, 15:14
jhz jhz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default vmware on ubuntu 6.06

I've carefully followed the excellent tutorial, and I've been able to set-up the vmware server, the MUI and the console client (Linux version).
I have encountered few problems, only the last remaining still unsolved yet.
1. I didn't have the right headers for my kernel ===> solved
2. httpd.vmware didn't restart at reboot ===> solved
3. Networking dosn't work in the vm I've set-up.
My guest OS is win XP. The networking is bridged.
Nothing happens under XP (IP address is in the same network as that of the host OS).
I've googled a bit, but without success yet.
I've noticed that /dev/vmnet0 doesn't appear in ifconfig -a
By the way, here's what "ifconfig -a" replies :

eth0 Lien encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:F4:6B:72:38
inet adr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
adr inet6: fe80::240:f4ff:fe6b:7238/64 Scope:Lien
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Packets reçus:190535 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:119125 errors:5 dropped:0 overruns:5 carrier:5
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
Octets reçus:274434270 (261.7 MiB) Octets transmis:8213351 (7.8 MiB)
Interruption:3 Adresse de base:0xa000

lo Lien encap:Boucle locale
inet adr:127.0.0.1 Masque:255.0.0.0
adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
Packets reçus:88028 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:88028 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
Octets reçus:6324831 (6.0 MiB) Octets transmis:6324831 (6.0 MiB)

sit0 Lien encap:IPv6-dans-IPv4
NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
Packets reçus:0 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
Octets reçus:0 (0.0 b) Octets transmis:0 (0.0 b)

vmnet1 Lien encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:56:C0:00:01
inet adr:172.16.142.1 Bcast:172.16.142.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
adr inet6: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 Scope:Lien
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Packets reçus:0 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
Octets reçus:0 (0.0 b) Octets transmis:0 (0.0 b)

vmnet8 Lien encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:56:C0:00:08
inet adr:172.16.56.1 Bcast:172.16.56.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
adr inet6: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 Scope:Lien
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Packets reçus:0 erreurs:0 :0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
Octets reçus:0 (0.0 b) Octets transmis:0 (0.0 b)

No vmnet0. Is it supposed to appear here, or being bridged with eth0 its absence is normal ?
How can I verify , both on the host and on the guest sides that things work as expected ?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st July 2006, 15:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,736 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

The ifconfig output looks ok, I'd say. Can you open a command shell on your XP box and run
Code:
ipconfig
? What's the output?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st July 2006, 20:49
jhz jhz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the answer.
Here's "ipconfig" output on the guest OS (XP):
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrateur>ipconfig
Configuration IP de Windows
Carte Ethernet Connexion au réseau local:
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion :
Adresse IP. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.11
Masque de sous-réseau . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Passerelle par défaut . . . . . . : 192.168.0.254
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrateur>ping 192.168.0.1
Envoi d'une requête 'ping' sur 192.168.0.1 avec 32 octets de données :
Délai d'attente de la demande dépassé.
Délai d'attente de la demande dépassé.
Statistiques Ping pour 192.168.0.1:
Paquets : envoyés = 2, reçus = 0, perdus = 2 (perte 100%),
Ctrl+C

You'll note that I have set the guest IP adress in the same network than the host (no DHCP).
Should I have let the system set it automatically (use DHCP) ?
Oh, and I've verified that vm0 seems bridged with eth0, as expected, because this process is running on the host :
4964 ? S 0:00 /usr/bin/vmnet-bridge -d /var/run/vmnet-bridge-0.pid /dev/vmnet0 eth0
Any idea ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st August 2006, 13:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,736 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhz
Should I have let the system set it automatically (use DHCP) ?
Try DHCP. XP's IP address should be in the 172.16.142.0 or 172.16.56.0 subnet.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st August 2006, 22:29
jhz jhz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, I've tried DHCP.
Here are the results:
First I've just changed my TCP/IP properties (in XP) to use DHCP.
The address didn't change (it remained what I had previously manually set-up:192.168.0.11), but the gateway address was no longer set (the field was empty).
Then I rebooted XP, and noticed several strange things. Address and netmask were both set to 0.0.0.0 (and the gateway field remained empty).
And I discovered the vmware tools service was not automatically started at boot time (services.msc showed that the service was configured to start automatically, but it didn't). I was able to start it manually (but on subsequent reboots, I always had to start the service manually).
I've also noticed that copy/paste between host and guest don't work (menu items are greyed). I suppose it *could* be related to the network configuration problem.
All in all, very little progress.
I'll try a repair on the XP side, with the installation CD, just in case...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd August 2006, 14:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,736 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhz
I've also noticed that copy/paste between host and guest don't work (menu items are greyed). I suppose it *could* be related to the network configuration problem.
I think you have to install the VMware tools for this.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd August 2006, 22:10
jhz jhz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

But the vmware tools are installed.
Just, the service isn't started at boot as it should. I have to start it manually.

I have also tried to reinstall XP, but no way, still no network nor cut and paste.

Is there somewhere an explanation of the different network modes a vmware server can provide to a guest OS ?
I mean, depending upon my choice (bridged, NAT...), how does it relate to the network configuration of the guest OS ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect Install - Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper Questions Anim HOWTO-Related Questions 123 1st October 2006 13:02
Ubuntu 6.06 gtoman HOWTO-Related Questions 5 29th July 2006 11:45
Buffer I/O errors installing Ubuntu 6.06 picker77 Installation/Configuration 1 26th July 2006 09:24
Can't set up root password on MySQL server for Ubuntu 6.06 simianstyle Installation/Configuration 15 19th June 2006 16:44
Ubuntu update from 5.10 to 6.06 - its allok for ispconfig? adrenalinic General 2 10th June 2006 20:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.