Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th June 2014, 14:37
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default Re: Static IP and Network Configuration in Debian Linux

Talking about this HowTo: http://www.howtoforge.com/debian-static-ip-address

Getting this problem:

Code:
(2:2028)# /etc/init.d/networking restart
Running /etc/init.d/networking restart is deprecated because it may not re-enable some interfaces ... (warning).
Reconfiguring network interfaces...RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Failed to bring up eth0.
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Failed to bring up eth0:0.
done.
Running perfect Debian Wheezy Server with ISPCFG3 + nginx
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th June 2014, 14:48
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,483
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,524 Times in 4,345 Posts
Default

Try:

service networking restart

instead. If this wont help, please post your /etc/network/interfaces file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th June 2014, 18:15
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Code:
(2:2109)# service networking restart
Running /etc/init.d/networking restart is deprecated because it may not re-enable some interfaces ... (warning).
Reconfiguring network interfaces...RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Failed to bring up eth0.
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Failed to bring up eth0:0.
done.
my /etc/network/interfaces

Code:
(2:2112)# cat /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 85.214.221.98
        netmask 255.255.255.255
        network 85.214.221.98
        broadcast 85.214.221.98
        gateway 85.214.192.1

auto eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
        address 85.214.249.109
        netmask 255.255.255.255
        network 85.214.249.109
        broadcast 85.214.249.109
        gateway 85.214.192.1

#DNS configurations
dns-nameservers 208.67.220.220
dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8
dns-nameservers 8.8.4.4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th June 2014, 08:22
srijan srijan is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 844
Thanks: 7
Thanked 121 Times in 115 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to srijan
Default

Quote:
(2:2109)# service networking restart
Running /etc/init.d/networking restart is deprecated because it may not re-enable some interfaces ... (warning).
Reconfiguring network interfaces...RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Failed to bring up eth0.
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Failed to bring up eth0:0.
done.
It seems that dhclient is active.
kill the process of dhclient & then try to restart the networking service.
__________________
Br//
Srijan
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to srijan For This Useful Post:
Ovidiu (7th June 2014)
  #5  
Old 7th June 2014, 01:20
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

I did a killall -9 dhclient followed by service networking restart

output:

Code:
(2:2153)# service networking restart
Running /etc/init.d/networking restart is deprecated because it may not re-enable some interfaces ... (warning).
Reconfiguring network interfaces...RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Failed to bring up eth0.
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
Failed to bring up eth0:0.
done.
Notice the changed line:
Failed to bring up eth0:0.

Any idea how to fix this and how to stop dhclient from starting?
(I went through this tutorial simply to get away from DHCP so I think I can remove it but unsure which package contains dhclient?)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th June 2014, 08:17
srijan srijan is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 844
Thanks: 7
Thanked 121 Times in 115 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to srijan
Default

Hi please do one thing flush the ip address for the eth0:0, kill all process for the dhclinet then check the network restart.

Quote:
ip addr flush dev eth0:0
pkill -9 dhclient
service networking restart
__________________
Br//
Srijan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th June 2014, 10:04
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

Tried that, after this command my server went down:

Quote:
ip addr flush dev eth0:0
logged via console, tried pkill -9 dhclient + service networking restart

Got:

Quote:
(1:553)# service networking restart
Running /etc/init.d/networking restart is deprecated because it may not re-enable some interfaces ... (warning).
Reconfiguring network interfaces...RTNETLINK answers: No such process
Failed to bring up eth0.
RTNETLINK answers: No such process
Failed to bring up eth0:0.
done.
And now I'm down - damn, shouldn'T have tried this in the middle of the day :-/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th June 2014, 10:10
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

The interface came up on its own without further interaction. poooh. gave me a fright.
Thanks for helping out. You might want to add a few of these instructions onto the howto!

Btw. does it make sense to remove the dhclient parts on my server?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th June 2014, 10:15
srijan srijan is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 844
Thanks: 7
Thanked 121 Times in 115 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to srijan
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovidiu View Post
The interface came up on its own without further interaction. poooh. gave me a fright.
Thanks for helping out. You might want to add a few of these instructions onto the howto!

Btw. does it make sense to remove the dhclient parts on my server?
dhclient is responsible for the dynamic IP address allocation, sometimes it gives conflict with the static Ip addressing. So it was suggested to kill the dhclient.

Further you were getting the error for the RTLINK exists, it was due to the dhclient trying to update the eth0:0 to dynamic IP, but the network configuration file suggesting to static IP so the error.
__________________
Br//
Srijan
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to srijan For This Useful Post:
Ovidiu (11th June 2014)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.