Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th July 2006, 10:05
sevar sevar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default GoDaddy NS related - one server two IP addresses

I read the godaddy + dns article and it looks cool. However I have one question.

I have a NS (ns1.foo.com and ns2.foo.com) both on the same server, but with different IP addresses. The howto describes how to setup nameserver with ispconfig installed on two different servers? Could someone please explain how to setup two nameservers on the same server, but with two IP addresses.

Also, the nameservers currently provide resolution for around 22 sites. How can I move the nameservers over to my new ispconfig-powered server without discontinuation in service for all those domains (some of which are owned/administered by others)?

For the record, the domain name used for the nameservers is used only for the nameservers and for nothing else.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th July 2006, 12:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sevar
I have a NS (ns1.foo.com and ns2.foo.com) both on the same server, but with different IP addresses. The howto describes how to setup nameserver with ispconfig installed on two different servers? Could someone please explain how to setup two nameservers on the same server, but with two IP addresses.
You just install BIND on your server (I guess you already have because you have ISPConfig installed ), and you must have both IP addresses configured on your server. Then you point ns1.foo.com to your first IP address and ns2.foo.com to your second. In ISPConfig, you just create master records, there are no zone transfers necessary to your secondary DNS because ns1 and ns2 are using the same BIND.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sevar
Also, the nameservers currently provide resolution for around 22 sites. How can I move the nameservers over to my new ispconfig-powered server without discontinuation in service for all those domains (some of which are owned/administered by others)?
Go to ISPConfig, set up all records for your 22 domains, test them wit the
Code:
dig @ns1.foo.com domain.com
command, and at the end, if everything is fine, you go to your registrars web interface and change the name servers for each of your 22 domains to ns1.foo.com and ns2.foo.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th July 2006, 18:39
sevar sevar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Falko. I really appreciate your help and all the guides you've written.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th August 2006, 08:44
gorolla gorolla is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi sevar,

Just wondering how did you go with setting this up? Did it work?

If it did, can you please guide me through how to get this work? because I wish do the same thing. However I don't know how to setup ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com with 2 ip addresses!

Is there a howto guide or some resource for me read about this.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th August 2006, 17:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gorolla
Is there a howto guide or some resource for me read about this.
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th September 2006, 04:28
djamoer djamoer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I'

Hi Falko,

Thanks for the great articles, but honestly there are a couple of things that are still missing on my end. My GoDaddy account does not have "Total DNS Control", when I click on the domain, so I just follow the last part, which is to create NS1 and NS2 on the "Domain Host Summary" with the corresponsing 2 different IP address that is being pointed to the same server.

I'm still having problem in understanding on how to setup this nameserver on single server with 2 different IP address.

From what I can understand, this is the steps that I need to take:
1. Setup A (host) record for the domain to be used as a nameserver, which is ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com. I cannot do this step, because I don't see any option for this in my GoDaddy account, will it be a matter if I just start from step 2?
2. Setup domain host again on GoDaddy summary page, which I'm still not sure why we need to do it twice.
3. Change server setting in ISPConfig, under dns tab to have ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com to be the name server address.

That's all, right? Now I can just start using the nameserver for all my other domain, and all I need to do just setup a new site using any reseller account that I just created, and it will automatically create the DNS config and records for the current site domain, and all I need is to change the nameserver for that specific site to use ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com that I setup in the first place. Do I get this right? Will the new site domain automatically support email as well?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th September 2006, 23:06
TheMetrix TheMetrix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wink NS Records

I looked on GoDaddys website on how Kolko said to create the NS Records. He is correct in the tutorial but that is only if you do not have your NS Records pointed already.

To do DNS Total control you would have to bring your NS Records back over to Godaddy and then proceed as Kolko instructs.

Kolko - That is one very good tutorial by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st September 2006, 05:42
djamoer djamoer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's so true.

I just figure it out, and I finally be able to get the whole thing work out.

Thanks for the info TheMetrix.

PS: Sorry for not introducing myself
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st September 2006, 14:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMetrix
Kolko - That is one very good tutorial by the way.
I think you mean Falko?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st September 2006, 16:21
TheMetrix TheMetrix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Smile

Thank you both for the knowledge.apt-get install wget bzip2 rdate fetchmail libdb3++-dev unzip zip ncftp xlispstat libarchive-zip-perl zlib1g-dev libpopt-dev nmap openssl lynx fileutils

Sorry, I forgot to introduce myself also.

New to the forums and to ISPConfig. Been using Linux for about 5 yrs off and on so you can call me a linux n00b too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.