Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th July 2012, 19:27
todx todx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 77
Thanks: 33
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default I have to wait more than 10 minutes for ISPConfig to create a website?

Hey everyone. I've noticed I always have a problem adding new website into ISPConfig system. Whenever I make a new website, database for it, ftp for it and DNS zone, I always have to wait 15+ minutes, sometimes 30minutes? Why is that? Can I do anything to prevent this or speed it up or does ISPConfig normal take so long to process the data?

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th July 2012, 21:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Normally it takes about one minute to write the configuration to disk. Maybe a lock file of the server process has not been removed correctly, run:

rm -f /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock

to remove it. If the problem happend again, then there is a problem with your server or system configuration that causes the server process to die. Debugging instructions for the server process can be found in the faq.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th July 2012, 23:33
cfoe cfoe is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NRW, Germany
Posts: 233
Thanks: 27
Thanked 57 Times in 32 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to cfoe
Default

I have the same problem on my servers.

The /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock file was there. I removed it but no solution for the problem

Where can the debug guide be found?
__________________
Christian Foellmann

OpenSource-Projects - GitHub-Projects - SVN-Mirrors on GitHub - Foe Services
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th July 2012, 09:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

http://www.faqforge.com/linux/debugg...-of-a-failure/

The lock file remains in case that the php process dies for whatever reason. When you test the debug, then you should test it at random times as the monitoring cronjobs run only when the current time can be divided by 5 ($minute%5 = 0) in case that the problem is causd by the monitor.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 27th July 2012 at 09:02.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th July 2012, 18:00
todx todx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 77
Thanks: 33
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Normally it takes about one minute to write the configuration to disk. Maybe a lock file of the server process has not been removed correctly, run:

rm -f /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock

to remove it. If the problem happend again, then there is a problem with your server or system configuration that causes the server process to die. Debugging instructions for the server process can be found in the faq.
THANK YOU till!!!

I did what you said and it only took around 10 seconds for the newly created website, ftp, database and DNS to become active!

PERFECT SOLUTION! (at least for me =))

Thanks again!

EDIT: ** Should I remove it more often? Or is this once in a year problem? =) I've been using ISPConfig for 6 months now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th July 2012, 18:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

I did not had it yet on my servers that a lock file was not deleted, so I guess it wont happen that often. But if there is a problem with the php installation or any of the applications that get called by ispconfig, it might happen that the php process dies again and can not remove the lock file. In that case, you should try to debug the issue to find the reason for the hanging process.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th August 2012, 11:18
todx todx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 77
Thanks: 33
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Thank you for the information till, I was away that's why I didn't answer. You say I should debug this issue? Can you refer me to a guide or tutorial on how to debug such issues?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th August 2012, 11:31
MaddinXx MaddinXx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 200
Thanks: 26
Thanked 65 Times in 48 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todx View Post
Thank you for the information till, I was away that's why I didn't answer. You say I should debug this issue? Can you refer me to a guide or tutorial on how to debug such issues?
Hey,

You have to: ISPConfig -> System -> Server Config (take server which has problems) -> Server -> Loglevel = Debug

Afterwards you can do a

Code:
tail -f /var/log/ispconfig/ispconfig.log
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th August 2012, 13:31
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todx View Post
Thank you for the information till, I was away that's why I didn't answer. You say I should debug this issue? Can you refer me to a guide or tutorial on how to debug such issues?
See post #4 in this thread.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th August 2012, 23:11
todx todx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 77
Thanks: 33
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
 
Default

Command "/usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh" returned:

Code:
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: apc.shm_size now uses M/G suffixes, please update your ini files in Unknown on line 0
And after that "finish".

I bought this would affect the php in any way? Or is this serious?

NOTE: I tried to fix it, by adding "M" or "G" at the end of "apc.shm_size=512", how ever that didn't seem to make any effect.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chroot SSH + ISPConfig Norman Installation/Configuration 27 26th March 2007 04:40
cannot create website guidovanh Installation/Configuration 1 5th March 2007 01:27
Verify email setup meekish Installation/Configuration 28 27th October 2006 16:36
Chrooted SSH apps bkrausz Tips/Tricks/Mods 14 30th August 2006 00:32
Can't Create a User Account for a new Website city Installation/Configuration 6 22nd October 2005 16:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.