Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th February 2006, 11:26
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Default apt-get update command is not functioning.

When i give the command "apt-get update" i have the following results":


server1:/home/admin# apt-get update
Err http://ftp.nl.debian.org stable/main Packages
Temporary failure resolving 'ftp.nl.debian.org'
Err http://security.debian.org stable/updates/main Packages
Temporary failure resolving 'security.debian.org'
Err http://ftp.nl.debian.org stable/main Release
Temporary failure resolving 'ftp.nl.debian.org'
Err http://security.debian.org stable/updates/main Release
Temporary failure resolving 'security.debian.org'
Err http://ftp.nl.debian.org stable/main Sources
Temporary failure resolving 'ftp.nl.debian.org'
Err http://ftp.nl.debian.org stable/main Release
Temporary failure resolving 'ftp.nl.debian.org'
Failed to fetch http://ftp.nl.debian.org/debian/dist...86/Packages.gz Temporary failure resolving 'ftp.nl.debian.org'
Failed to fetch http://ftp.nl.debian.org/debian/dist...y-i386/Release Temporary failure resolving 'ftp.nl.debian.org'
Failed to fetch http://ftp.nl.debian.org/debian/dist...rce/Sources.gz Temporary failure resolving 'ftp.nl.debian.org'
Failed to fetch http://ftp.nl.debian.org/debian/dist...source/Release Temporary failure resolving 'ftp.nl.debian.org'
Failed to fetch http://security.debian.org/dists/sta...86/Packages.gz Temporary failure resolving 'security.debian.org'
Failed to fetch http://security.debian.org/dists/sta...y-i386/Release Temporary failure resolving 'security.debian.org'
Reading Package Lists... Done
E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

What could be wrong?
(I have receive these results everytime i give the mentioned command.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th February 2006, 13:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

Your server is unable to resolve the IP addresses for domain names.

Please check your /etc/resolv.conf if the nameservers listed there are working and reachable from your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th February 2006, 15:10
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Hans
Thumbs up Re:

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Your server is unable to resolve the IP addresses for domain names.

Please check your /etc/resolv.conf if the nameservers listed there are working and reachable from your server.
Till,
thanks for your reply.
Apt-get works already now.

One more question:
In ISPConfig > Management > Server > Settings > DNS,
i have to mention two DNS-servers:
Default Ns1: ?
Default Ns2: ?

Which DNS-servers have i have to mentioned here,
the IP-address of my own server, which runs Bind9 or
the DNS-resolvers provided by the network of the colocation?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th February 2006, 18:57
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans
Till,
thanks for your reply.
Apt-get works already now.

One more question:
In ISPConfig > Management > Server > Settings > DNS,
i have to mention two DNS-servers:
Default Ns1: ?
Default Ns2: ?

Which DNS-servers have i have to mentioned here,
the IP-address of my own server, which runs Bind9 or
the DNS-resolvers provided by the network of the colocation?
These DNS Servers where used as defaults in the ISPConfig DNS-Manager. So you should enter the domain of your server as ns1 and the domain of the secondary server that you want to use as ns2.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th July 2006, 19:02
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

hello,

I had the same issue as above, I do not know why but my /etc/resolv.conf contained also this line: nameserver localhost ...

I tok it out and its all working again.
Anyone has got any clue as to how that line came to be there? the only change I made was to tell my bind configuration: Do full recursive lookups for clients? NO as I did not want an open DNS server. could that have been the reason?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st July 2006, 16:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
hello,

I had the same issue as above, I do not know why but my /etc/resolv.conf contained also this line: nameserver localhost ...

I tok it out and its all working again.
Anyone has got any clue as to how that line came to be there?
It must have been there already.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
left frame (Tools) broken after update Tommie Installation/Configuration 4 11th February 2006 00:02
SpamAssassin runs amok after Update Coteaux Installation/Configuration 12 18th January 2006 23:27
Security Update: PHPMyAdmin-2.6.4-pl3 till General 4 31st October 2005 17:27
Update from 2.0.7 to 2.0.8 brody Installation/Configuration 7 31st August 2005 16:37
# yum update domino Server Operation 2 29th August 2005 10:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.