#1  
Old 23rd August 2012, 10:00
commentator commentator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 146
Thanks: 49
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default network troubles

Hi,

Setting up a new network.
dhcp
Code:
subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.240.0 {
interface eth1;
option broadcast-address 10.0.15.255;
option subnet-mask 255.255.240.0;
option routers 10.0.0.1;
option domain-name-servers 10.0.0.1;
default-lease-time 900;
max-lease-time 7200;
range 10.0.0.51 10.0.0.59;
range 10.0.0.61 10.0.0.189;
range 10.0.0.191 10.0.0.199;
range 10.0.0.201 10.0.1.59;
range 10.0.15.191 10.0.15.254;
}
clients getting an ip.
It works ok when they receive an 10.0.0.x address. When they receive for example an 10.0.1.x address the pc can't go to internet.

Can you tell me how to solve this problem?

....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd August 2012, 10:12
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

When the device has a 10.0.1.x address, can you ICMP ping 10.0.0.1 with it?
(check with tcpdump if ICMP ping reaches the router)

Does your router have the correct netmask settings? The settings of the dhcp server seem correct, maybe you mistyped something on the router?

If you can ICMP ping the router, maybe you've firewalled some stuff?
__________________
Real men don't backup... Real men cry!

http://www.e-rave.nl/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd August 2012, 12:02
commentator commentator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 146
Thanks: 49
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

hi,

thanks for your reply.
I cannot ping from 10.0.1.x address. No firewall active yet ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd August 2012, 12:09
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

Ok, but do you see any incoming packets at all with tcpdump ?
__________________
Real men don't backup... Real men cry!

http://www.e-rave.nl/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd August 2012, 12:26
commentator commentator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 146
Thanks: 49
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

gateway/router is same machine as dhcpserver (for test @the moment)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd August 2012, 13:00
commentator commentator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 146
Thanks: 49
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_NL View Post
Ok, but do you see any incoming packets at all with tcpdump ?
problem found:
no route on router for the network.
solved it for now wit:
Code:
route add -net 10.0.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 gw 10.0.0.1
how to add this automatically?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd August 2012, 13:16
Mark_NL Mark_NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 912
Thanks: 12
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
Default

That should actually be:
Code:
route add -net 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.240.0 gw 10.0.0.1
that should tell the router "ok, everything in the range 10.0.0.0/20 (10.0.0.1 up to 10.0.15.254) should be send to 10.0.0.1"

If you have your network settings correctly setup on your router, this route should already be there.

see: route -n
__________________
Real men don't backup... Real men cry!

http://www.e-rave.nl/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mark_NL For This Useful Post:
commentator (23rd August 2012)
  #8  
Old 23rd August 2012, 16:09
commentator commentator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 146
Thanks: 49
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
 
Default

problem was typo in networkconfig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu 12.04 "waiting for network configuration" on boot orasis Installation/Configuration 10 25th June 2012 21:19
Problem with Network configuration on UBUNTU Server 12.04 LTS MikeFF Installation/Configuration 6 16th June 2012 10:26
Sending mail ISPConfig 3 but not receivind catza Installation/Configuration 20 19th May 2010 12:47
Unable to connect to Mysql mbascombe Installation/Configuration 12 10th January 2010 22:46
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.