#1  
Old 30th July 2012, 16:32
Nap Nap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 167
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Setup subdomain with ISPConfig

Hi,
I am trying to get a subdomain going using ISPConfig (Apache2), but I can't get it right.
I added the subdomain using the Sub-Domain Link in the left panel, and I followed the instructions in the ISPConfig manual. I'm using a URL redirect, so the type is set to [R,L]. The subdomain is located in a sub-folder of the domain on the same machine.

http://subdomain.domain.tld didn't work in my browser. It responded 'Server Not Found'. So I looked into the DNS area of ISPConfig. I'm running BIND9.

I currently don't have any entries there. I'm using my VPS provider's name servers.

Do I need to add (using the Wizard) a record for the parent domain?
Do I need to add another record for the subdomain? (For the DNS name server fields, would I use my VPS providers name server, as I did for the parent domain, or can I use ns1.mydomain.tld, where mydomain.tld is the domain linked to client0 [Administrator's site])
Do I need to make changes to the master Domain record (at my registra's site)?
Do I HAVE TO setup a subdomain as a new site in ISPConfig? I'm hoping to use the parent domain folder tree.

So many questions....

Cheers,
Nap
__________________
My VPS system:
(Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, Kernel 3.15.4-x86_64, Apache 2.4.7, MySQL 5.5.38, PHP 5.5.9, ISPConfig 3.0.5.4p5, Webmin, PureFTP & Quota, phpMyAdmin, postfix, dovecot, amavis, clamav, spamassassin, awstats, fail2ban, Jailkit, bind9, vlogger, webalizer)

Last edited by Nap; 30th July 2012 at 20:08.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th July 2012, 18:24
Nap Nap is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 167
Thanks: 11
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Here is how I've set it up so far (ISPConfig):

[WEB DOMAIN]
various settings overall
Domain = client1_domain.tld
Auto-Subdomain = *.
no Redirects

[SUBDOMAIN for WEBSITE
Host = subdomain_name
Domain = client1_domain.tld (dropdown list)
Redirect type = R,L
Path = http://www.client1_domain.tld/subdomain_name
Active = Tick

[DNS ZONE] Added a DNS Zone using the Wizard, as I didn't have one setup in ISPConfig earlier.
Server myhostname.client0_domain.tld (client0_domain is the server administrator's domain name)
Client = client1
Domain = client1_domain.tld
IP Address = www.xxx.yyy.zzz (Static IP of the Server) [can I use a FQDN here?]
NS1 = ns1.client0_domain.tld (I'm assuming these nameservers were established when I installed BIND9)
NS2 = ns2.client0_domain.tld
Email = WebMaster@client1_domain.tld

When going back to edit the DNS Zone, here is the info shown:
Server = myhostnam.client0_domain.tld
Client = Client1
Zone(SOA) = client1_domain.tld.
NS = ns1.client0_domain.tld.
Email = WebMaster.client1_domain.tld.
Refresh/Retry/Expire/Minumum/TTL (all left @ default values)
Active = Tick
Other fields left blank.

[Records] Added a CNAME record to the DNS Zone
Hostname = subdomain_name
Target Hostname = subdomain_name.client1_domain.tld
TTL = Default
Active = Tick
=============

I checked /etc/apache2/sites-available to see what's going on there. ISPConfig has made the updates, to client1_domain.tld.vhost file as follows:
Code:
<VirtualHost *:80>
      DocumentRoot /var/www/client1_domain.tld/web

    ServerName client1_domain.tld
    ServerAlias *.client1_domain.tld
    ServerAlias subdomain_name.client1_domain.tld
    ServerAdmin webmaster@client1_domain.tld

...  and later in the file  ...

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST}   ^subdomain_name.client1_domain.tld$ [NC]
        RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !^/webdav/
    RewriteRule   ^/(.*)$ http://www.client1_domain.tld/subdomain_name/$1  [R,L]
I tried pinging the subdomain, but ping was not able to resolve the address.

I'm not sure what other information would help diagnose what's going wrong.
__________________
My VPS system:
(Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, Kernel 3.15.4-x86_64, Apache 2.4.7, MySQL 5.5.38, PHP 5.5.9, ISPConfig 3.0.5.4p5, Webmin, PureFTP & Quota, phpMyAdmin, postfix, dovecot, amavis, clamav, spamassassin, awstats, fail2ban, Jailkit, bind9, vlogger, webalizer)

Last edited by Nap; 30th July 2012 at 18:27.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th July 2012, 21:06
pititis pititis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mnchen
Posts: 364
Thanks: 39
Thanked 89 Times in 68 Posts
 
Default

You need to add a DNS A record for the subdomain after define it in the website tab.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Version 1.3 of the ISPConfig 3 Manual is finally available! falko General 44 2nd December 2011 13:04
Mirror Setup - ISPconfig install issues James A Installation/Configuration 1 31st August 2011 12:17
SquirrelMail login not working glenneh Installation/Configuration 13 9th April 2011 21:01
use jawstats / mawstats with ispconfig e100 Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 19th December 2010 12:33
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 11:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.