Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th July 2012, 10:01
NeonNexxus NeonNexxus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default Create dummy0 in Minimal install SUSE 12.1

Hi again guys.

Today i am doing again an installation of a SUSE 12.1 server (minimal install)
And I am about to put this server as a production server.
Following again falkos guide at .. http://www.howtoforge.com/virtualiza...se-11.4-server

which is basically the same i am stuck at the point where i need to create the dummy0 interface and be able to use it from startup (boot) time.

Please help me out here i am stuck here.
Thanks
Ed

I tried with modprobe but can't seem to get it to work.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th July 2012, 10:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Why do you try to create a dummy0 interface and not a bridge as shown in the tutorial?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th July 2012, 10:28
NeonNexxus NeonNexxus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
 
Default Thank you for the reply falco.

Maybe you remember my other post about setting xen over Centos6.2
Now i am setting kvm over Suse 12.1 minimal install.
And I have again the public IP addresses for the server.
If you remember I have the server ip xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and the other 4 ip's the third octect changes and I need to create a bridge nat wont work since all the IP's are public.
So i need to create a bridge which according to your tutorial works but i need to create the dummy0 to use it as the bridge and do not use eth0 as the bridge.
This is of course a different server but needs to be installed same as centos (my other post) but with suse.
My other post was this ..
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57674
and now i am doing the same but with suse 12.1
Thanks Falco.
Ed.

Last edited by NeonNexxus; 28th July 2012 at 11:27. Reason: Adding
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
update services on ubuntu kwickcut HOWTO-Related Questions 3 12th February 2011 01:45
can't help ispconfig to install please help steve51184 Installation/Configuration 17 20th February 2009 10:37
ISPConfig install issues... flyingaggie Installation/Configuration 2 18th July 2008 10:46
suse 9.3 install: E: Couldn't find package ncftp aallen Installation/Configuration 4 26th January 2006 20:02
Install HELP:: ERROR: Could not create aps.tar.gz palkat Installation/Configuration 3 29th August 2005 09:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.