Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Technical

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd July 2012, 22:02
jtajtajta jtajtajta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Downloading a zone file from the internet?

Hi all,
I am about to take over name services for a domain. The client wants to setup our services before the current operator is to be informed about the upcoming change.

How can I download the entire zone file for my client's domain? I can make nslookups and find some hosts, but I'll never be sure if I found them all. Downloading the complete zone file, or requesting its complete contents from their DNS server would be the best solution.

Sorry if this is trivial. I'm a newby, here
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th July 2012, 00:21
rosehosting rosehosting is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I don't think you'll manage to download the entire zone file for a particular domain for the simple reason that today's DNS servers will only transfer zone files to only explicitly allowed host machines.

IMO, the best way to get the zone file(s) is to gently ask the admins who currently host the zone file(s)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th July 2012, 12:27
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

or you might gently offer them to be their slave dns at first, than you have a copy of their zone
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th July 2012, 16:41
jtajtajta jtajtajta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben View Post
or you might gently offer them to be their slave dns at first, than you have a copy of their zone
Yeah... that would be nice. A bit suspicious but nice.

Too bad that their nslookup does not allow the ls command.

Thanks to both of you for your suggestions.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.3.3 Autoresponder, adding subdomain problem BlackHat Installation/Configuration 4 18th October 2011 15:24
adding mail boxes kwickcut Server Operation 20 11th August 2010 02:02
rewrite url not work apache2+mod_rewrite mohamedtah Installation/Configuration 1 31st January 2009 14:00
Chroot SSH + ISPConfig Norman Installation/Configuration 27 26th March 2007 04:40
Systemimager (rsync) doesn't copy all comedit HOWTO-Related Questions 11 19th January 2007 18:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.