#1  
Old 2nd July 2012, 19:19
bsides bsides is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Creating a Second Site

Hi all,

i've already create my first site with ISPConfig 3 pointing my domain - which is hosting in another provider - to an IP address where ISPConfig 3 is installed.
I want to create a second site.
If i buy a second domain and a public IP , go to ISPConfig 3 and add the second IP, create a new site with the new IP and create an A Record to the Domain provider to point to that IP will that work as a second web site in the same server?

Thank you all.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd July 2012, 08:46
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,172
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,412 Times in 4,255 Posts
Default

This will work.

But a second IP address is only required if you need ssl for the enw website. If you dont need ssl, then you can run as many domains as you like on your single IP address.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd July 2012, 09:12
bsides bsides is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for the answer, but how can i add a second domain with a single IP address ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd July 2012, 10:17
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,172
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,412 Times in 4,255 Posts
Default

Login to ispconfig, go to sites > Website, enter the domain anme and click on save.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd July 2012, 11:01
bsides bsides is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you Till.
If I understand this i only have to add a valid domain in the site > Website > Domain section and not to add records to the DNS records.
At the moment i have enter a non-valid domain and redirect the valid domain to the Public IP and everything works fine.
What if i add the second valid domain and the redirection still exists ?

example1: www.test1.com redirects to xx.xx.xx.xx
example2: www.test2.com redirects to the same IP xx.xx.xx.xx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd July 2012, 11:14
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,172
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,412 Times in 4,255 Posts
Default

You have to use valid domain names and tehse domain names have to exist in dns, this can either be your dns server or the server of your provider were you registered the domain names. Apache knows which domain is used to query the server as the webbrowser informs apache about the domain name. Take a look at the apache documentation if you like to knwo in detail how name based virtual hosts work.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd July 2012, 21:20
bsides bsides is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi Till,
still have a problem with the second website. am
I am creating an A record in my DNS provider pointing domain2 in the same IP as domain1.
Go to ISPConfig 3 > sites and for the each site ,with valid domains, in the section IPv4 add the the same IP.
When i am trying to see the sites from the browser i see only the first site (domain1) with the page of the second site.
The second site never manged to see it.
Am i doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20
ISPConfig 2.2.14 released till General 48 19th July 2007 23:46
Creating a new site for an exisiting DNS domain pjdevries Installation/Configuration 6 6th June 2007 20:21
Hostingplan gives wrong values when creating a site dimitar General 2 10th May 2007 16:55
Problem with the apache (I can't start ist) M.Behrens Installation/Configuration 11 31st March 2006 10:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.