Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th July 2006, 17:20
LHTyler LHTyler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can I set up an Intranet with Perfect SuSE 10.1 setup?

Hello,

I am new to Linux, though I have had some experience with the GUI versions of SuSE. I have been asked to set up an intranet and I'd like to use SuSE 10.1. The intranet will be for internal use only, and will not be accessible from outside.

If this isn't the correct place to post, please let me know where I should ask.

Thank you,
Lynne
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th July 2006, 11:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Can I set up an Intranet with Perfect SuSE 10.1 setup?
Yes, sure.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th July 2006, 16:07
LHTyler LHTyler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default intranet -- got it

Hello Falko!

I figured it out. (I also realized I had posted in the wrong forum as my question concerned setting up the intranet website using ISPConfig.)

Falko, your how-to was outstanding! I have a very little knowledge of Linux, mostly from what my son has taught me. I set up my server -exactly- as you said, only losing my nerve when TLS started asking for authentication for certificates. I made notes of everything I entered and just kept plugging along. I couldn't get Putty to work to copy and paste your text, so I typed it all in manually, checking everything line by line. It worked perfectly. Thank you so much!

Lynne
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th July 2006, 16:17
witless1 witless1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

To copy and paste into putty simply copy it as normal on the windows machine and right click in the terminal and it should appear. For future reference for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th July 2006, 19:40
LHTyler LHTyler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default putty

Thank you!

My son said, "Mom, type it in. You should learn what you're doing."

Later, after grumbling about a typo it took me 30 minutes to find he said "Mom, the console is your friend, the keyboard isn't!" I asked him to make up his mind, but he just laughed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect 10.1 SuSE setup - postfix lt_wentoncha HOWTO-Related Questions 4 2nd July 2006 18:46
perfect setup suse 10 - phpmyadmin & mysql question reddog Server Operation 7 17th June 2006 13:59
Is there also a Perfect Setup for SuSE 9.1 bluegrass Installation/Configuration 7 18th January 2006 18:16
The Perfect Setup - SUSE 9.3 (firewall?!) bogdinator HOWTO-Related Questions 7 12th December 2005 13:31
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 03:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.