#1  
Old 21st June 2012, 04:31
kirkharris kirkharris is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Wordpress + apache + ispconfig3

Moved a wordpress site from a standard apache config/machine to a new ISPConfig3 setup.

I actually moved 2, the first one worked fine, the 2nd one i just get a 500 error, and NOTHING logged in the website's error.log

I have tried different PHP types, and with SuExec on and off, and all pose the same problem.

I can show whatever needs shown. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st June 2012, 11:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
I actually moved 2, the first one worked fine, the 2nd one i just get a 500 error, and NOTHING logged in the website's error.log
Please check the website error.log and global error.log again, a 500 error must have been logged somewhere by apache.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2012, 16:23
kirkharris kirkharris is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I thought the same thing, but i checked the global, and the vhost-specific weblog. Nothing was logged about this.

I did some default troubleshooting by renaming the wp-content/plugins folder, and low and behold the site came online.

After moving plugins back in, i found the culprit to be subscribers-text-counter.

Will look into that later, thanks for the help!

I'm really digging ISPConfig3, just setup 2nd machine with it this week!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st June 2012, 16:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

By default, all current Linux distributions have php errors disabled. If a fatal php error occurs, then this can be displayed as 500 error in apache. Try to enable php errors in the php.ini file so that they get displayed on the screen, this might help to find the problem in the wordpress module.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st June 2012, 16:55
kirkharris kirkharris is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i imagine i make this change in

/etc/php5/apache2/php.ini ?

and just to be sure exactly what needs put in there?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st June 2012, 17:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
i imagine i make this change in

/etc/php5/apache2/php.ini ?
Thats the php.ini for mod_php only. If you use the recommended php settings for wordpress (php-fcgi + suexec), then the php.ini is i imagine i make this change in

/etc/php5/cgi/php.ini

Quote:
and just to be sure exactly what needs put in there?
The setting is:

display_errors = On

if I remember correctly. Restart apache after changing the php.ini.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Updating and Uploading to Wordpress website on ISPConfig3 - Fedora 13 MrCompTech Tips/Tricks/Mods 8 25th August 2014 15:18
sessions not being saved gavimobile General 6 15th January 2012 16:05
amavis rejects all inbound emails aclhkaclhk Installation/Configuration 5 28th February 2010 05:24
trying to install roundcubemail ressel Installation/Configuration 13 24th December 2009 21:13
problems with suexec gobokster Installation/Configuration 7 7th May 2009 14:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.