Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Developers' Forum

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 20th July 2012, 10:23
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 149
Thanks: 27
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Hi Marius,

I am working on a migration script like yours, but for Ispconfig2 to Ispconfig3, including complete data transfer of web content, databases and mails.

I would like to integrate it in ISPConfig3 as a module, but the module developement howto seems to be outdated (eg. there is no lib/db_local.php.skel or lib/db_local.php)
I found the database settings in the new config file 'config.inc.php', but this does only half the trick...
I use the web interface files on my local Windows XP/XAMPP web server, and I get a lot of warnings and errors, depending on what menus I open.

Do you know if I have to configure something else or is it the usual behaviour of the test environment?

Thank you,
regards, Tom
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 20th July 2012, 13:19
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 927
Thanks: 16
Thanked 261 Times in 208 Posts
Default

I'm sorry but I never used ispc on windows - just on linux.
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 20th July 2012, 13:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,083
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,397 Times in 4,241 Posts
Default

The ispconfig interface part works fine on windoes, you just have to edit the database details in config.inc.php file. The file config.inc.php is the config file since the beginning of ispconfig 3, the other fiels you mentioned were added by a contributor and had been removed as they were not needed. I will delete the part of the tutorial.

Regarding the warnings that you get, either your enviroment is missing some php modules or the error_reposrting level is wrong. ISPConfig uses the level:

E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
teves (20th July 2012)
  #24  
Old 20th July 2012, 17:30
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 149
Thanks: 27
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

Quote:
The ispconfig interface part works fine on windoes, ...
please forgive me, for you are right, but at first it really didn't. And this is not a question of missing php modules or error_reporting settings.

I always got the following message:
Quote:
Warning: include_once(C:\xampp\htdocs\ispconfig3-module\web\tools\lib\interface.d\default.menu.php) [function.include-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in C:\xampp\htdocs\ispconfig3-module\web\admin\lib\module.conf.php on line 95
and the loading gif was showing on some of the menus.

Looking inside the given directory, the default.menu.php file was missing indeed. Instead I found 'default-v2.menu.php'. So I just made a copy of it, renamed it to default.menu.php and the warnings were gone.

regards, Tom
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 13th December 2012, 13:16
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 149
Thanks: 27
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Default Any news on the Plesk Imort tool?

Hi Marius,

I know this thead is old, but I did not find any news about your work on the Plesk import tool. If you have a few minutes spare time I would be glad if you could give me a short update on what the tool can do at the moment.
I have to admit that I will use it today, regardles of any issues, to move my Plesk Clients to Ispconfig! :-)
But I'd like to know if the database import works, for a start, and what I would have to do to make it work here.

Perhaps it is of some interest to you that I have developed a small tool that allows to sync the emails from Plesk to Ispconfig (basically to any other server, but this is not checked so far). It is based on imapsync, of course, which does most of the work. I thought about implementing this into ISPConfig, because I've been busy developing an OX-Connector lately (http://url9.de/ugv) and now am looking for a new project... ;-)

regards, Tom
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 13th December 2012, 14:21
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 927
Thanks: 16
Thanked 261 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Hi Tom,

the plesk import tool is in a very rough state and I am very busy at other projects so there is no real progress at the moment.
I used the tool to convert all of my customers including webs and emails from plesk to ispconfig but:
1.) i use ispconfig 3.0.5 beta (latest version from stable branch)
2.) i do not know what plesk version i imported from

The conversion worked, although i do not import dns entries.
Before using the importer script some settings have to be written into the plesk importer php file by hand (like mysql password and some things like that) to be able to use the bash script.
The tool creates a bash file in /tmp folder that contains all commands (rsync, mysql dump etc) to get the web, database and mail data from the source server.
The bash script also does a grep/replace in the transfered web files to change the path configurations from plesk-style to ispconfig.

If you want to use the current (very unstable) importer, please use the latest version from svn branch.
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Croydon For This Useful Post:
codingideas (25th January 2013), teves (14th December 2012)
  #27  
Old 13th December 2012, 16:09
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 149
Thanks: 27
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Hi Marius,

thanks for your answer!
I'll just give it a try. Ispconfig version is also 3.0.5 beta and with Plesk its 10.4.4.

Regards, Tom
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 13th December 2012, 16:21
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 927
Thanks: 16
Thanked 261 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Good luck
Please keep in mind that the script takes a long time to run without giving any feed back during this time.
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 15th December 2012, 23:23
Disassembler Disassembler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teves View Post
Hi Marius,
I'll just give it a try. Ispconfig version is also 3.0.5 beta and with Plesk its 10.4.4.
Hi teves,

if you feel adventurous you could also try my converter. I discovered this thread too late so I was almost done when I read Croydon is working on similar functionality.
He's certainly lightyears ahead of me regarding experience with ISPconfig but then again my code is a bit easier to maintain and extend, which I'm still doing
Advantages: migrates databases; is highly configurable and modular
Disadvantages: requires Perl and bunch of non-core modules; is highly configurable; not integrated with the web interface; only tested with Plesk 9.5
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 17th December 2012, 16:24
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 149
Thanks: 27
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
 
Default

Thanks for the hint! I certainly deem myself adventurous enough to try your solution
The only reason why I am not trying it is that I only need to migrate about 10 domains and I am not willing to do the extra work; croydons solution works well enough for me. It is no problem to migrate the databases manually.

But still: we have 3 different approaches to migrate client data between two servers. I am sure that if we picked the best parts out of each, we could assemble a better solution.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to teves For This Useful Post:
codingideas (25th January 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem migrating joomla sites from ISPC2 to ISPC3 - Allowed memory exhausted radim_h Tips/Tricks/Mods 5 21st June 2011 14:12
Changing Distro (and moving ispc3) Turbanator Tips/Tricks/Mods 1 7th April 2011 15:34
Default siteuser folder structure in ISPC3 titushanke Installation/Configuration 2 21st August 2010 00:23
ISPC3 with RSA key generation djtremors Feature Requests 2 31st May 2009 12:08
How should billing work in ISPC3 redray Developers' Forum 2 6th February 2009 20:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.