Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Developers' Forum

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 18th June 2012, 18:46
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 932
Thanks: 16
Thanked 262 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Thank you. I uploaded the first, incomplete version to svn and added the task details and dependencies to the bugtracker.
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Croydon For This Useful Post:
falko (19th June 2012), till (18th June 2012)
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 12th July 2012, 12:09
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 150
Thanks: 27
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Does that mean there is a (at least partly) working way to migrate from Plesk to ISPConfig3?
Is this available to the public? If so, where can I find it?

regards, Tom
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th July 2012, 12:11
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,380
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,481 Times in 4,315 Posts
Default

The ISPConfig 3 repository is freely accessible:

svn://svn.ispconfig.org/ispconfig3/trunk/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
teves (12th July 2012)
  #14  
Old 12th July 2012, 12:45
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 932
Thanks: 16
Thanked 262 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Please keep in mind that it is far from finished.
Databases and some other features are not yet migrated, so it will take a while until it is usable.
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Croydon For This Useful Post:
teves (12th July 2012)
  #15  
Old 12th July 2012, 12:51
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 150
Thanks: 27
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Hi Marius,

thanks for the warning, but that's ok with me. If only the annoying and error-prone work of copying resellers, clients, etc. would done automatically, it would be a great achievement. So I am very willing to try...

I have no idea how to enable your plesk migration into a running ispconfig3 though. Is there a howto somewhere?

Thank you, Tom
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12th July 2012, 13:11
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 932
Thanks: 16
Thanked 262 Times in 208 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teves View Post
Hi Marius,

thanks for the warning, but that's ok with me. If only the annoying and error-prone work of copying resellers, clients, etc. would done automatically, it would be a great achievement. So I am very willing to try...

I have no idea how to enable your plesk migration into a running ispconfig3 though. Is there a howto somewhere?

Thank you, Tom
This is only implemented in svn, not in stable version of ispconfig.
Do not use it on you production installation, as it might crash.

First step:
Create a (read only) database user on your plesk database.

Second step:
Update your ispconfig install to the latest svn version
/usr/local/ispconfig/server/scripts/update_from_svn.sh

Third step:
As admin in your ispconfig interface got to "tools" -> Import plesk.

Fouth step:
Enter the plesk database details (options below are non-functional, yet).
Submit the form and pray
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Croydon For This Useful Post:
teves (12th July 2012)
  #17  
Old 12th July 2012, 13:23
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 150
Thanks: 27
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
Default

hmm....

I'd rather not install an unstable version, but on the other hand it is not a productive system at the moment. And what is more: it is virtualized and I cound make a copy beforehand.

So if i did the svn update, will I be able to update to a release version of ispconfig afterwards?
Then I'd do the svn update, import from plesk and afterwards do a 'normal' update.

Would that be possible?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12th July 2012, 13:27
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 932
Thanks: 16
Thanked 262 Times in 208 Posts
Default

I would not recommend doing this... it might mess up your installation switching like that.

You could try to apply this on a copy of your installation just to check if the plesk import would work for you at all.
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Croydon For This Useful Post:
teves (12th July 2012)
  #19  
Old 12th July 2012, 14:55
teves teves is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 150
Thanks: 27
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
Default

OK, I'll give you a small feedback on my first attempt:

I followed your small howto... I'll just tell you all the issues that occurred to me; please don't take it as criticism. :-)

First issue is: you don't get any feedback of the GUI. At first I had a typo in my server address and did not get a warning (ping test or so).
When I corrected it and the script finally started, I had no clue it did (beacause no progress/activity is shown).
So I also did not know when it was finished, and if any errors had occurred (is there a log for it?)

When I considered the migration finished after several minutes, the following had been done:
- Resellers imported
- Clients imported
- dns zones imported
- Domains and Aliasdomains imported
- Subdomains imported as 'normal' domain (like in your description)
- mail domains created, but not a single mailbox, redirect or alias
- no ftp users created

I did not check everything in detail yet (like limits for users) though.

Concerning the sequence of tasks, does this indicate the script has stopped because of an error?

regards, Tom
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12th July 2012, 14:59
Croydon Croydon is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Koblenz, Germany
Posts: 932
Thanks: 16
Thanked 262 Times in 208 Posts
 
Default

First of all: Thanks for the feedback, I know there's no progress indicator or anything like that, not needed for development phase
I plan to split the process to a few steps just to avoid running into php execution time limits or something like that.

If you get an error during the process it should either be in the syslog/web log (if it is a php error) or on the interface (db error). I have not yet come to the point where I needed further error info because the import steps are not ready, yet.

As you state that you got no ftp user import, mail accounts cannot be created because they come after ftp. Either there was en error in dns import or ftp user import I think.
__________________
Marius Cramer

pixcept KG

Last edited by Croydon; 12th July 2012 at 15:01.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem migrating joomla sites from ISPC2 to ISPC3 - Allowed memory exhausted radim_h Tips/Tricks/Mods 5 21st June 2011 14:12
Changing Distro (and moving ispc3) Turbanator Tips/Tricks/Mods 1 7th April 2011 15:34
Default siteuser folder structure in ISPC3 titushanke Installation/Configuration 2 21st August 2010 00:23
ISPC3 with RSA key generation djtremors Feature Requests 2 31st May 2009 12:08
How should billing work in ISPC3 redray Developers' Forum 2 6th February 2009 20:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.