#1  
Old 22nd May 2012, 19:36
cpq cpq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 47
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPconfig and DNS

Hi all and thanks for all how put in som time at this site and forum :-)

I have made an multi server setup : http://www.howtoforge.com/multiserve...th-ispconfig-3

I made all servers with LAN IP address, and now i kinde of stuck.

How do i create 2 public DNS servers that works with public IP address?

NS1: 192.168.1.161 - want it to work on Wan IP 123.123.123.1
NS2: 192.168.1.162 - want it to work on Wan IP 123.123.123.2

All servers it located behinde a firewall
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd May 2012, 14:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

You must make the A records of your nameservers (e.g. ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com) point to your public IP addresses. Also configure your router to forward port 53 (TCP and UDP) to the nameserver's local IP addresses.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
cpq (2nd June 2012)
  #3  
Old 23rd May 2012, 15:21
cpq cpq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 47
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falco.

Thanks for you´re answer :-)
is this right? (se photos)
I want to run my own DNS for all my domains instead havind to host then at a DNS hoster.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by cpq; 23rd May 2012 at 15:24.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th May 2012, 13:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Looks ok, but if you want to host example.com on nameservers that use the same domain in their hostnames (ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com), you also need glue records: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_...d_glue_records
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th May 2012, 11:04
cpq cpq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 47
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falco.

Thank you so much for you´re time :-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th June 2012, 14:33
cpq cpq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 47
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It seems that i need som configuration for my DNS servers...
I only followed the guide and nothing else, how do i configure my name servers?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th June 2012, 15:11
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,214 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

Quote:
It seems that i need som configuration for my DNS servers...
No. Falko talked about the dns server of the registry were you ordered the domain and not your dns servers. Glue records have to be added at the registry and not your own dns server. The records of your own server as shown on the screenshot are fine.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th June 2012, 15:14
cpq cpq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 47
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I got that, but the servers is not responding internal nor externat when asking at there IP address.

Dos they need to be made som changes af some config files?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th June 2012, 23:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Do you see BIND running in the outputs of
Code:
netstat -tap
and
Code:
netstat -udp
?

also make sure that port 53 (TCP and UDP) is open.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th June 2012, 23:55
cpq cpq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 47
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I´ll try that tomorrow...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Version 1.3 of the ISPConfig 3 Manual is finally available! falko General 44 2nd December 2011 12:04
Control Panel - E-mail Tab is empty domi-nik General 15 14th April 2011 18:17
Hosting multiple websites and webmail dmwcool Installation/Configuration 8 30th March 2010 03:15
DNS and ISPConfig atjensen11 Installation/Configuration 1 19th February 2009 10:48
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 09:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.