Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th March 2009, 22:21
Iceman100 Iceman100 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig 3 Server IP points to first website setup

How can I disable the server's IP from pointing to the first website setup? Also, any website which has a subdomain pointing to the server's IP also points to the first website setup.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th March 2009, 23:28
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Either you create a default vhost in your apache configuration or you assign specific IP addresses for the vhosts.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th March 2009, 11:29
Iceman100 Iceman100 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for replying Till.

ISPConfig 3 makes a default vhost by itself and I only have 1 IP I can use which is assigned to the different websites I have hosted on the server. Problem is that when I enter the IP address in the browser, it gets redirected to the first website that I created and also any subdomain from the other sites also gets redirected to it.

So what change should I make in the configuration to stop this behavior. I don't want the IP to redirect to any website.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th March 2009, 16:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Select the ip in the settings of the site where it shall be pointing to.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th March 2009, 20:30
Iceman100 Iceman100 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Okay, it worked. Thanks Till

I removed the IP from all the sites and made it "*" which solved the issue. Now when someone tries to access the IP or any subdomain of any of the sites hosted, it goes to the apache default page if it doesn't exist.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st May 2012, 10:50
sunny123 sunny123 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello,

I have the same problem as the above poster.

I just have a little question regarding this.
It seems that our server is set up without the server IP configuration (it is configured in "Server Configuration" though) - there is no IP configured under the menu-point "Configure Server IP".
So all our domains are set to "*" in die IP field (and we therefore have the same problem as mentioned in the above post).

IF I add a server IP NOW(to get rid of the problem) - will this have any impact on our current domains/vhosts/websites? (except maybe that they are not reachable by entering the IP in the address-field as I hope)

I don't want to cause any disturbances on our production server...

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd May 2012, 14:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

No, this will not influence your existing web sites.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems ingvar Installation/Configuration 6 31st July 2010 13:13
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44
Setting up a backup mail server setup with two installations of ISPConfig zitch Tips/Tricks/Mods 7 30th December 2006 10:07
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 18:12
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.