Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 13th June 2012, 15:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Have you tried to reboot? That should fix it.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 8th August 2012, 23:50
MaddinXx MaddinXx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 200
Thanks: 26
Thanked 65 Times in 48 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theWeird View Post
I had the same problem on my ISP-installations inside an OpenVZ container.

It is a bug in an older openvz-kernel on the host node which has been fixed some month ago. But because openvz is developed on a redhat kernel the patches need really long time to be ported into the official debian kernel.

But the people of the Proxmox project work much faster on that point than the debian devs.
I switched the kernel used on the host node to Proxmox (which is based on debian) and now all problems I had with openVZ disappeared.

Just follow the steps
'Adapt your sources.list' and 'Install Proxmox VE Kernel'
on this wiki page to make it work like a charm.
http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Install_...Debian_Squeeze

BUT:
If you already had VEs configurated:
Proxmox moves the directory /etc/vz/conf to /etc/vz/conf.org and creates a symlink from /etc/vz/conf to /etc/pve/openvz.
So after installing Proxmox VE it seems that all your VEs are gone.
Just copy the config files from conf.org back to conf and restart openvz
# /etc/init.d/vz restart
Afterwards everything is fine.

My original post in the german forum:
http://www.howtoforge.de/forum/29686-post23.html
Hi

I just tried switching to the Proxmox kernel, but the system won't boot anymore...

1) What could have been gone wrong?
2) I have access to a rescue system where I can mount all partitions e.g. /dev/md1 etc. - how can I revert to the old kernel so it can boot up again?

//edit: OK I was able to boot with the old kernel, but still it would be cool to know what went wrong

Would really appreciate your help

Last edited by MaddinXx; 8th August 2012 at 23:59.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm attack brute force qb7 General 6 21st July 2012 22:34
Problem with fetchmail/getmail brianetilley Installation/Configuration 3 27th January 2012 13:15
ISPConfig reports SMTP-server down, with Roundcube installed toffie Installation/Configuration 2 1st December 2011 11:55
Error show pages in server qb7 General 1 31st October 2011 10:09
Cron issue in Debian 6 Nolan Installation/Configuration 6 18th April 2011 17:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.