Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd July 2006, 05:55
gjcomputer gjcomputer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: missouri, USA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default ispconfig on port 443 (standard secure port)

instead of port 81 (my work blocks) i want to run the ispconfig apache on port 443. i know i wont be able to host other secure sites but all my hosted sites are for friends and family, i have searched the forums, and changed what i could from port 81, to port 443. now i can not access ispconfig control panel at all. i want to be able to type this (https://mysite.com) and have the control panel come up. any and all help is much appreciated!!
__________________
6r36.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd July 2006, 05:57
gjcomputer gjcomputer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: missouri, USA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

also i hope webmail would run on port 443 as well (with ispconfig)
__________________
6r36.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd July 2006, 07:14
gjcomputer gjcomputer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: missouri, USA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

and i only have 1 IP address, but i will NEVER use ssl for any other site
__________________
6r36.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd July 2006, 18:54
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,009
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

If you dont want to sue port 443 for your websites, you can remove the "Listen 443" directive in your main apache configuration, the restart apache and make sure that it does not listen on port 443 anymore (e.g. with netstat -tap).

Then configure the ISPConfig httpd to listen on port 443 instaed of port 81.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd July 2006, 19:10
androme androme is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

have you planed to set the http or https and port directly in the isp config interface in future ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd July 2006, 19:35
gjcomputer gjcomputer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: missouri, USA
Posts: 91
Thanks: 15
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

ok i changed the main appache to only listen to port 80, restarting now, i also changed the ispconfig apache to listen on 443, lets see if it works



works great, thanks guys
__________________
6r36.com

Last edited by gjcomputer; 22nd July 2006 at 19:37.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd July 2006, 21:34
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,009
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by androme
have you planed to set the http or https and port directly in the isp config interface in future ?
No, because this would mean that you either can not use https or http for your websites anymore or you need at least two IP addresses.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th September 2006, 18:48
linuxhelp linuxhelp is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 443 Https

Hi ALL,

i have setup a new system an set apache only to listen on 80

and isp to 443 in /root/ispconf... but the ispsite isn't reachable

Thanks for help

I want to setup only one site 80 and webmail 443

Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st October 2006, 14:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
 
Default

What exactly did you change? What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
? Did you restart Apache and ISPConfig?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig running on default web server (port 80) geek.de.nz Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2008 11:32
ISPconfig on port 443 ? olaus Installation/Configuration 8 29th July 2007 13:37
ISPConfig on port 80 fobicodam General 11 18th July 2006 13:45
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 16:16
How to install BFD (Brute Force Detection) domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 9 31st March 2006 23:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.