Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd April 2012, 15:31
t0rz t0rz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 127.0.0.255
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ipv4-address problem - ISPConfig 3.0.4.4

Good day,
I have a problem.

Say my server IP is 127.0.0.1, and that I have additional IPs 127.0.0.2, 127.0.0.3, and so on.

I also have a domain, www.example.com, pointing to 127.0.0.1.
And I have another domain, www.something.com with a round-robin pointing to 127.0.0.1, 127.0.0.2, and so on.

In ISPConfig, www.example.com IPV4-Address is set to 127.0.0.1 (main server IP).
Instead, www.something.com IPV4-Address is set to *, cause it has to be reacheable with all IP addresses available.

When I try to navigate to www.example.com, it opens successfully.
However, www.something.com does not. It opens www.example.com.

It may be just my lack of knowledge, but could somebody explain why is that occuring?

Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd April 2012, 15:42
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,396
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,492 Times in 4,323 Posts
Default

In apache, a IP address is always a stronger match then a wildcard. So if you have two domains pointing to the same IP address and then add one with * in apache and another one with the IP, then apache will display the site were you selected the IP for both domains.

For that reason, dont match * and IP address websites on a server that use the same IP, either use * for all sites or the ip address for all sites that pint in dns to this IP but dont mix it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd April 2012, 18:23
t0rz t0rz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 127.0.0.255
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
In apache, a IP address is always a stronger match then a wildcard. So if you have two domains pointing to the same IP address and then add one with * in apache and another one with the IP, then apache will display the site were you selected the IP for both domains.

For that reason, dont match * and IP address websites on a server that use the same IP, either use * for all sites or the ip address for all sites that pint in dns to this IP but dont mix it.

So there is no way to make a website listen to multiple IP addresses with the wildcard?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd April 2012, 18:27
dclardy dclardy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 347
Thanks: 10
Thanked 47 Times in 28 Posts
Default

The wildcard allows it to listen on all IP Addresses.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd April 2012, 19:07
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,396
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,492 Times in 4,323 Posts
Default

Quote:
So there is no way to make a website listen to multiple IP addresses with the wildcard?
Of course you can do that, just to switch the other sites to * as well and it will work. Just dont mix * and IP for websites that resolve to the same IP address.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd April 2012, 19:43
t0rz t0rz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 127.0.0.255
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Of course you can do that, just to switch the other sites to * as well and it will work. Just dont mix * and IP for websites that resolve to the same IP address.
But I don't want other websites to listen on all IPs.
I just want a website to be reached on all IPs and another one on just ONE IP (server main IP).
One should be able to do this by sending the "Host" header to the server, but for some reasons it won't work.
I understand that an IP address matches sooner than a wildcard, but the VirtualHost name should also have consideration, shouldn't it?

I just don't get it, I always thought this could be done.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd April 2012, 19:45
dclardy dclardy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 347
Thanks: 10
Thanked 47 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Set all of those to just that one IP Address, and the other site to *.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd April 2012, 19:49
t0rz t0rz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 127.0.0.255
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dclardy View Post
Set all of those to just that one IP Address, and the other site to *.
I did that, but the website with the wildcard won't work, as it will just load the website with the single IP address.
I mean, when you open the site with the wildcard set, it will open the site with the IP address set.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd April 2012, 20:00
dclardy dclardy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 347
Thanks: 10
Thanked 47 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by t0rz View Post
I did that, but the website with the wildcard won't work, as it will just load the website with the single IP address.
I mean, when you open the site with the wildcard set, it will open the site with the IP address set.
When you assign an IP that IP can essentially no longer be used by another site. It becomes dedicated to just that site.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd April 2012, 20:08
t0rz t0rz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 127.0.0.255
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dclardy View Post
When you assign an IP that IP can essentially no longer be used by another site. It becomes dedicated to just that site.
Can't it be a shared ip?
I know shared IPs can be used, I have done that before.

The main problem is the wildcard.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending email issue lezelf Installation/Configuration 15 9th August 2011 11:20
Sending mail ISPConfig 3 but not receivind catza Installation/Configuration 20 19th May 2010 12:47
Hosting multiple websites and webmail dmwcool Installation/Configuration 8 30th March 2010 03:15
ISPConfig 3 Security mnzava Installation/Configuration 8 8th March 2010 11:00
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 12:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.