Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st July 2006, 05:27
andrewt andrewt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Viewing a site before DNS propagates

Hi all,

I looked over the httpd.conf and vhosts files that ISPConfig outputs but wasn't able to answer this question for myself (and couldn't find it among the archives).

I've just set up a site for someone (say, foo.com) using ISPConfig, and the base directory for that website will be /var/www/web3/web/. It'll be a day or so until DNS changes fully propagate so that foo.com actually resolves to this ISPConfig-based server.

In the meantime, is there a IP address-based URL via which the user can view his site as he works on it? E.g., something in the spirt of ~user that works for individual users' homepages, like 1.2.3.4/~web3webdir?) If nothing works out of the box, I know I can just copy and tweak the VirtualHost in /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf. Or I can have the user modify his PC's \windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file.

But I'm wondering if there's a better solution (that won't get blown away if I then make changes to the server via ISPConfig).

Thanks!

Andrew
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st July 2006, 08:27
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Why don't you just tell them your ip, the dns name and how to add it into their hosts file?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd July 2006, 15:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewt
Or I can have the user modify his PC's \windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file.
Yes, do it that way.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th March 2007, 20:45
crapufish crapufish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There is any way to do what andrewt originally requested?

Thanks!

Dorian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th March 2007, 19:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Apart from modifying the clients' hosts file - no.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd March 2007, 09:28
crapufish crapufish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And how ca I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd March 2007, 11:04
Leszek Leszek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Poland,Włocławek
Posts: 369
Thanks: 22
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Leszek
Default

Hi!

You could make a .bat file for example dns.bat and write a line like this into it:

Code:
echo 195.136.127.12 www.client.pl >> C:\Windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
and then send it to Your clients.The path above is for Windows XP.
Unfortunetly it differs in other Windows systems.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd March 2007, 11:12
crapufish crapufish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yea, but what about you want to call a certain URL on the server itself?
I mean, let's suppose you have a cron job which calls an URL on a virtual host hosted on the server. The virtual host should be accesible with it's name (like www.virutalhost.com)? This doesn't work on my system so I guess I should use something like http://localhost/~virtualhost/.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd March 2007, 17:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crapufish
Yea, but what about you want to call a certain URL on the server itself?
Then you must modify /etc/hosts.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Site Skeletons rbartz Feature Requests 11 29th November 2008 16:07
Trouble viewing Site chilka General 7 15th July 2006 13:31
Removed site, but it is still there mromer General 2 21st December 2005 17:46
Viewing site path doesnt work. kingkunt General 3 10th December 2005 22:50
can't delete a site KenMcGinnis Installation/Configuration 2 14th August 2005 15:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.