#1  
Old 14th April 2012, 18:12
skoena skoena is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Emmen, Netherlands
Posts: 407
Thanks: 71
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Send a message via MSN to skoena Send a message via Skype™ to skoena
Default Nameservers

I register my domain at a registrar and add my NS there.
On my server I add the next DNS records:

Quote:
A * 192.168.1.1 0
A domain.nl. 192.168.1.1 0
A mail 192.168.1.1 0
A www 192.168.1.1 0
MX domain.nl. mail.domain.nl. 10
NS domain.nl. ns1.server.com. 0
NS domain.nl. ns2.server.com. 0
If I change the NS records on my server will it work or do I need to change them at the registrar?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th April 2012, 00:26
pititis pititis is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: München
Posts: 364
Thanks: 38
Thanked 86 Times in 68 Posts
Default

Yes at register you must define both ns1 and ns2 for your domain.

Also you will need two A records in ispconfig pointing to ns1 ans ns2.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pititis For This Useful Post:
todx (15th April 2012)
  #3  
Old 18th April 2012, 15:07
skoena skoena is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Emmen, Netherlands
Posts: 407
Thanks: 71
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Send a message via MSN to skoena Send a message via Skype™ to skoena
Default

I get these result via network-tools.com:

Quote:
DNS servers
ns1.skoena.com [77.74.50.70]
ns2.skoena.com


NS
dns1.hosted.nl
86400s

NS
dns2.hosted.nl
86400s
Do I need to change the SOA as well?
If I don't understand how should me customers? ;-)
Is there not an easy way to get this done?

Last edited by skoena; 18th April 2012 at 15:12.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th April 2012, 15:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Is there not an easy way to get this done?
The dns system is a bit complicated and requires some knowledge if you want to run your own dns server. Each domain name that you want to use for whatever has to exist in dns. So if ns1.server.com and ns2.server.com are the nameservers of a domain, then you have to ensure that both exists at dns a-records in the zone server.com and they they point to your primary and secondary dns server. If you like to dig deeper into dns, then you might want to read trough the traditional dns tutorial that explains all the basics of the dns system setup.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't receive mail from GMAIL psychop General 7 23rd December 2011 09:08
Ubuntu Server, ISPConfig, Domain name, and problems NYCSavage Server Operation 5 27th November 2009 17:45
DNS server problems sulfuric Installation/Configuration 1 8th October 2007 17:17
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.