Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th April 2012, 14:34
NdK NdK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bologna, ITA
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default Simplify config of vhosts

When you have both http and https for the same site, great part of the config is duplicated, while it would be sufficient to save the "core" definition in a file then do:
<VirtualHost *:80>
Include /.../vhost.include
</VirtualHost>
<VirtualHost *:443>
SSLEngine on
SSLCertificateFile ...
Include /.../vhost.include
</VirtualHost>

HIH.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th April 2012, 16:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,771
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

In your setup, apache has to open two config files while the current setup requires only one file. The vhost files are not made for manual editing anyway, when you want to modify them then you modify the ispconfig vhost master template and in the master template there is only one vhost definition in a loop statement.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th April 2012, 12:04
NdK NdK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bologna, ITA
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Well, since config files are read only at startup, it's not a big drawback... But if one needs to do some changes manually, it becomes harder to mess it.

BTW, I used that method to add Nagios only to a specific vhost.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th April 2012, 12:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,771
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

Quote:
Well, since config files are read only at startup, it's not a big drawback... But if one needs to do some changes manually, it becomes harder to mess it.
All manual changes in the files get removed automatically. If you want to add some custom directives, use the apache directives field on the options tab of the website settings in ispconfig.

Quote:
BTW, I used that method to add Nagios only to a specific vhost.
thn your changes will get removed as soon as the vhost is rewritten the next time. To make your changes permanently, add them in the apache directives field.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th April 2012, 14:15
NdK NdK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bologna, ITA
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Well, Nagios vhost isn't "known" to ISPConfig, so it won't get rewritten.

Speaking of "rewriting config"... I noticed that now, when I edit a vhost, its symlink in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled becomes NNN-hostname. That's OK, but... shouldn't I be allowed to choose that "NNN" on a site-by-site basis? Or am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th April 2012, 14:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,771
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

Quote:
Well, Nagios vhost isn't "known" to ISPConfig, so it won't get rewritten.
I thought you were talking about ispconfig as you posted to the ispconfig forum.

Quote:
but... shouldn't I be allowed to choose that "NNN" on a site-by-site basis?
This is set automatically depending on the the auto subdomain you choose to ensure that wildcards come after the domains. So this should not be editable by the user or admin, its managed by ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th April 2012, 14:46
NdK NdK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bologna, ITA
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
I thought you were talking about ispconfig as you posted to the ispconfig forum.
Well, other vhosts on that server are managed by ISPConfig. And Nagios was, too. But it became a mess when I needed an upgrade -- too much copying around, so I used the method in the first post to include its "standard Apache config" (from distro packages), enclosing it in an ad-hoc vhost definition (that, incidentally, is the one ISPConfig generated)

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
This is set automatically depending on the the auto subdomain you choose to ensure that wildcards come after the domains. So this should not be editable by the user or admin, its managed by ispconfig.
Uhm... Shouldn't a 'single digit' be enough for that?
Being able to redefine site ordering w/o changing host names is really useful for SNI-enabled servers, to guarantee a predefined ssl-vhost for non-SNI-enabled clients.
And should be really easy to implement...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th April 2012, 14:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,771
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

Quote:
Uhm... Shouldn't a 'single digit' be enough for that?
The default for Debian based distributions is 3 digits so we used thsi as default for ispconfig too.

Quote:
Being able to redefine site ordering w/o changing host names is really useful for SNI-enabled servers, to guarantee a predefined ssl-vhost for non-SNI-enabled clients.
And should be really easy to implement...
I've added this as feature request to the bugtracker.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th April 2012, 15:13
NdK NdK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bologna, ITA
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The default for Debian based distributions is 3 digits so we used thsi as default for ispconfig too.
Ok. But strange

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
I've added this as feature request to the bugtracker.
Tks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dovecot v2 with ISPConfig 3 CSsab Installation/Configuration 13 13th September 2012 19:01
Spamsnake - Problem with spamassassin, FuzzyOcr and MySQL debuguser HOWTO-Related Questions 6 16th September 2008 18:37
ISPConfig 2.2.14 released till General 48 19th July 2007 23:46
Anyone figured out to integrate FuzzyOCR into ISPConfig on Ubuntu? friday Installation/Configuration 16 10th May 2007 16:25
spamassasin/clamAV not working Daisy Installation/Configuration 32 15th February 2007 00:09


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.