Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th March 2012, 15:12
Mitzy Mitzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Web root and www to non www

Hello,
*
Following on from my other thread I decided to install ISPConfig on* a clean server and it appears I can now access SquirelMail and phpMyAdmin etc so all is good on that front YAY.
*
Iím having massive problems though with my site.
*
Redirection from www to non www results in blank pages, if I change it to divert to www everything works fine. This problem has been killing me, so simply but Iíve checked all the usual and canít come up with a reason for it not working.
*
As a result of the above I decided to delete the existing site then re-add it again, only afterwards realising that the new site points to a different document root, so how can I link this site to an already existing document root to get my site back online?
*
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th March 2012, 18:17
Mitzy Mitzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just reuploading all the files to the new document root however I'm still stuck with the problem that I can't access my site via http://example.com.

Any ideas, think I'm missing something on the DNS side of things.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th March 2012, 19:09
Sir Henry Sir Henry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

How is your DNS configured then? You need separate DNS records for example.com and *.example.com.
__________________
Cheers, Sir Henry

Last edited by Sir Henry; 29th March 2012 at 19:13.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sir Henry For This Useful Post:
Mitzy (29th March 2012)
  #4  
Old 29th March 2012, 19:38
Mitzy Mitzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Henry View Post
How is your DNS configured then? You need separate DNS records for example.com and *.example.com.
Hello dude.

My name servers are with linode.

I've got A records as following with Linode.

www > Points to Server IP
mail > Points to Server IP
"___" Points to Server IP (this one is just blank)

I've got the same A records in ISP Config as above.

I don't have any records as you've described "example.com" and "*.example.com"



My brain is hurting now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th March 2012, 19:45
Mitzy Mitzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th March 2012, 20:01
Sir Henry Sir Henry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Your DNS looks ok to me, no problem there.

Actually you seem to have a redirect or alias from the-sps.org to www.the-sps.org. Is that not what you want? What is actually not working as expected?
__________________
Cheers, Sir Henry
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th March 2012, 20:32
Mitzy Mitzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Henry View Post
Your DNS looks ok to me, no problem there.

Actually you seem to have a redirect or alias from the-sps.org to www.the-sps.org. Is that not what you want? What is actually not working as expected?
At the moment I have a redirect from http://example.com to http://www.example.com because when I try to browse to http://example.com I get a blank page.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th March 2012, 20:47
Mitzy Mitzy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

For whatever it's began working now YAY
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th March 2012, 09:20
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,126
Thanks: 4
Thanked 43 Times in 40 Posts
 
Default

maybe some browser / dns cache somewhere? well, it works now
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quota Exceeded errors IKShadow Installation/Configuration 14 20th January 2011 16:39
Postfix delivery problem erebus Installation/Configuration 6 28th October 2007 16:20
mysql replication tera7 Server Operation 9 3rd October 2007 15:04
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
Help (emailproblem) leen Installation/Configuration 8 10th March 2006 11:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.