#1  
Old 7th March 2012, 19:58
kike kike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default misterious DNS fails

from the last week i can solve some adreses but others not,
i m using fedora 14 and bind chrooted
for example:
dig google.com
; <<>> DiG 9.7.4-P1-RedHat-9.7.4-2.P1.fc14 <<>> google.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27355
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 11, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;google.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.161
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.162
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.163
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.164
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.165
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.166
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.167
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.168
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.169
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.174
google.com. 212 IN A 74.125.230.160

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
google.com. 197021 IN NS ns3.google.com.
google.com. 197021 IN NS ns4.google.com.
google.com. 197021 IN NS ns2.google.com.
google.com. 197021 IN NS ns1.google.com.

;; Query time: 19 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.11#53(192.168.2.11)
;; WHEN: Wed Mar 7 19:29:36 2012
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 276

other (a lot) - for example howtorge.com not solve
ig howtoforge.com

; <<>> DiG 9.7.4-P1-RedHat-9.7.4-2.P1.fc14 <<>> howtoforge.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 10703
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;howtoforge.com. IN A

;; Query time: 206 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.11#53(192.168.2.11)
;; WHEN: Wed Mar 7 19:54:03 2012
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 32

hosts, permissions look ok, etc

Not firewall, not selinux working

any sugerence? Thx!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th March 2012, 13:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/resolv.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th March 2012, 20:11
kike kike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default /etc/resolv.conf

search red-uno.es
nameserver 192.168.2.11
nameserver 192.168.2.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th March 2012, 22:38
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,573
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,980 Times in 3,901 Posts
Default

Try to use the free google dns servers in /etc/resolv.conf to see if that fixes the problem. The IP addresses are:

8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th March 2012, 23:09
kike kike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 8.8.8.8

i can't use external dns. if i use 8.8.8.8 or another external dns then wen i call host from locale, the the reply solves te router ip and no point to our servers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th March 2012, 15:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

You can configure your router to use Google's nameservers (or any other nameservers).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th March 2012, 11:39
kike kike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Cool not option for use external nameservers

First thankyou for your time mates
we can't use externals servers, if do it, then the servers not works with wordpress (for updating or similar, can't operate bicause calls points to router ip, with the subsequent resolution name process result broken

this is the problem:
from local network with our NS
ping to our.domain.net resolves ok 192.x.x.x
ping to another.external.net resolve - some OK & some fails
be
from internet: resolves OK and NAt works fine.
--- this is the configuration it worked before -----


from locale with externals NS:
ping to our domains resolves to our.router.ip then not mach

that is
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS data from Standalone servers to Primary DNS server SamTzu Tips/Tricks/Mods 7 15th November 2009 13:38
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.