Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th March 2012, 20:25
shakethefloor shakethefloor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Custom nameservers on ISPConfig3 VPS w/ debian

Is this possible? I'm extremely new to linux, VPS' and ISPConfig so i'm really not sure where I stand with anything.

I have a domain, mydomain.co.uk, and at the moment it is set with my registrar to have nameservers that are itself(, ns1 and ns2.mydomain.co.uk), and point to my two IP addresses.

Next I have a fresh install of debian with ISPConfig3 installed, and hardly anything has been changed since that.

I have a master zone with mydomain.co.uk and my hostname is server.mydomain.co.uk and i added 2 NS records with my IP and 2 A records with ns1 and ns2.mydomain.co.uk, and all the other www A record etc.

I have a couple of domains with ns1 and ns2.mydomain.co.uk as their name servers and they aren't working, so I assume i've missed something

Thanks

UPDATE: i can ping both ns1 and ns2.mydomain.co.uk and it responds with the correct IP addresses that I set them to on my server, but I added myotherdomain.co.uk as a site, then set the nameservers in my registrar to ns1 and ns2.mydomain.co.uk, but the site isnt working and neither ping or nslookup returns anything, even though the site has an index file.

Last edited by shakethefloor; 8th March 2012 at 01:10. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th March 2012, 08:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,421
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,500 Times in 4,329 Posts
Default

First, sites and dns are two different things. Sites are apache vhosts and dns records are records in bind dns server. So if you add a site this does not imply that ypu have dns and vice versa.

To get dns, add dns records in ispconfig. the easiest option is to use the dns wizard. If you are not sure that you added the dns records correctly, then post screenshots of the dns zone and records that you added.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
shakethefloor (9th March 2012)
  #3  
Old 8th March 2012, 10:29
shakethefloor shakethefloor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Brilliant, got it sorted now, just used the wizard and added a zone for the domain i wanted and it worked straight away

Thanks again and sorry for the stupid question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation just stops, and dies. cosmicsafari Installation/Configuration 3 19th July 2011 10:24
amavis rejects all inbound emails aclhkaclhk Installation/Configuration 5 28th February 2010 04:24
Ubuntu Server, ISPConfig, Domain name, and problems NYCSavage Server Operation 5 27th November 2009 17:45
[debian 5 + ispconfig 3] Unable to send mail tanakskool HOWTO-Related Questions 6 4th November 2009 18:20
Error in connecting to vpn server anoopprasad Installation/Configuration 5 16th June 2008 18:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.