Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th July 2006, 15:03
willebanks willebanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: connecticut
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How To Run Your Own Name Servers With ISPConfig And GoDaddy

Howdy all,

Just transfered my main domain to godaddy from yahoo (What a Pain in the !@#$#@!)! I was following the above howto and had a few questions...

#1. Since I have only 1 static ip can I use it for both primary and secondary dns servers or should I have godaddy or someone else "host" my secondary ( Hopefully for free). I tried the Public DNS service but I'm not sure if they are even up and running as I kept getting errors everytime I tried to set something up!

#2. I also have a mail server on the same static ip (same domain as well), I'm not sure how to point to the mail server...do I use an A record or MX or both or is a Cname the way to go...this might be a good short topic for a howto as it is very confusing for a first timer and a step by step guide would be a great help!

#3 Do I even need to have a Cname record? And if so what should it be!

Sorry about all the questions but I want to make sure I'm doing everything right...hopefully to prevent more questions in the future!

Thanks in advance to all the help!

Will
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th July 2006, 15:27
Ben Ben is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,029
Thanks: 7
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Default

The easiest way is to do that all by a provider who no only holds your zone, more than that allows you to store all A-Records, MX, CNAMEs on his servers and cares for them instead of doing all on your own.

Normally you should have your zone at least held by two servers in two different class Cs because the redundancy is done by the client. On the other hand if your dns server is also your web and mailserver there is no benefit for the client if he can lookup your DNSname because the will not reach your server.

For the E-mailstuff you need to set up an MX-Record (which is done by ISPConfig as far as you use it when checking the boxes for it.).

Are you already using bind9 or another mailserver?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th July 2006, 17:10
willebanks willebanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: connecticut
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Ben,

Thanks for the quick reply...as far as bind9 goes yes it is running on my server and as far as I know I have the ability to host my own DNS servers. I have multiple static ips yet I still haven't been able to get an answer from SBC as to how I can access more than one IP at a time... so I have to settle for the one static IP for the moment!

I am using Fedora Core 5 with IPconfig and Postfix. I have a Netgear router and all pertinent ports pointing to the servers address (192.168.0.100), not to mention that the server is setup as the DMZ. I had everything working at one point but was so confused by the Yahoo domain config that I transfered the domain to godaddy because of the above howto!

At the end of the day all I want is to be able to have web traffic and email come to my server. I don't care who hosts the DNS or anything else for that matter. I just want to be able to have a few web pages and email until I understand this stuff better!

Will Banks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th July 2006, 13:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willebanks
#2. I also have a mail server on the same static ip (same domain as well), I'm not sure how to point to the mail server...do I use an A record or MX or both or is a Cname the way to go...this might be a good short topic for a howto as it is very confusing for a first timer and a step by step guide would be a great help!
It's also explained in the ISPConfig-GeDaddy tutorial. Also have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto

Basically, you create an A record mail.example.com, and then you create MX records that point to mail.example.com.

Quote:
Originally Posted by willebanks
#3 Do I even need to have a Cname record? And if so what should it be!
No need for CNAME records.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slightly Confused (DNS & Server Help) JohnnyBGoode Installation/Configuration 26 14th August 2007 09:54
Virtual Hosting: How do I set this up? VinceDee Installation/Configuration 7 12th December 2006 18:36
godaddy and centos 4.3 setup with single ip on dsl using ispconfig sethtat HOWTO-Related Questions 3 21st June 2006 01:34
ISP-Ubuntu breezy ispconfig dns email e-mail working finally yellowjelly HOWTO-Related Questions 0 19th November 2005 20:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.