Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd February 2012, 14:48
kiddiak kiddiak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default openvz container missing parameter

Hi,

first off I did not follow this guide
http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...n-ubuntu-10.04

i'm running ubuntu 10.04, I followed a debian guide and everything is working 100% with kernel 2.6.32-042stab049.6, a rhel6 based kernel

For Ispconfig everything works if I fill out everything in "Advanced" UBC parameters for the VM template, but if I create a template without changing the parameters, Vmguarpages, Oomguarpages, Privvmpages and Shmpages get some default values and the other ones are blank. When I create a container with this template logs say:

2012-02-22T13:22:01+0000 vzctl : CT 101 : Error: required UB parameter swappages not set

and /etc/sysconfig/vz-scripts/101.conf has no values

...
# Parameters
ONBOOT="yes"
KMEMSIZE=""
LOCKEDPAGES=""
PRIVVMPAGES="98304:98304"
SHMPAGES="65536:65536"
NUMPROC=""
PHYSPAGES=""
VMGUARPAGES="65536:65536"
OOMGUARPAGES="65536:65536"
NUMTCPSOCK=""
NUMFLOCK=""
NUMPTY=""
NUMSIGINFO=""
TCPSNDBUF=""
TCPRCVBUF=""
OTHERSOCKBUF=""
DGRAMRCVBUF=""
NUMOTHERSOCK=""
DCACHESIZE=""
NUMFILE=""
AVNUMPROC=""
NUMIPTENT=""
...

The problem is that guessing or calculating advanced values is not my cup of tea, tried that and the VM reports 80GB of RAM in a 256M container Maybe the rhel6 based kernel needs this value but doesn't get it in a script ispconfig runs when UBC parameters are not set ?

Regards,
Kristinn.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd February 2012, 14:58
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

You have to select a template when you create a new vm and this template fills out all parameters of the VM. There is a default template delivered with ispconfig where all values are set. If you create your own templates, then you have to fill in all available filelds on the advanced tab. See openvz wiki if you want to know more about the values and there are also precalculated parameter sets available there.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd February 2012, 15:58
kiddiak kiddiak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, do you know if these are the default ispconfig values?

Numproc - 999999:999999
Numtcpsock - 7999992:7999992
Numothersock - 7999992:7999992
Vmguarpages - 262144:262144
Kmemsize - 2147483646:2147483646
Tcpsndbuf - 214748160:396774400
Tcprcvbuf - 214748160:396774400
Othersockbuf - 214748160:396774400
Dgramcvbuf - 214748160:396774400
Oomguarpages - 262144:262144
Privvmpages - 393216:393216
Lockedpages - 999999:999999
Shmpages - 262144:262144
Physpages - 0:2147483647
Numfile - 23999976:23999976
Avnumproc - 180:180
Numflock - 999999:999999
Numpty - 500000:500000
Numsigninfo - 999999:999999
Dcachesize - 2147483646:2147483646
Numiptent - 999999:999999
Swappages - 256000:256000

ok... I did not see the last value "Swappages" until now... I recovered these values from a db backup of dbispconfig when I deleted all VM templates. But if these are the default values should they be ok for any vps size in terms of ram? Or do you recommend changing values based on vps ram size :]

any idea why free reports these numbers ?

root@testvps:~# free
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 8589934588 28324 8589906264 0 0 18184
-/+ buffers/cache: 10140 8589924448
Swap: 0 0 0

RAM: 256MB
Burst: 384MB
CPU units: 30000
CPU number: 1
CPU limit %: 20
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd February 2012, 16:31
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

The default values are ok for most smaler vm's but might be increased for larger vms's. See openvz wiki for details and other predefined template sets.

Regarding the free output, I get correct values here on my debian servers.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th February 2012, 18:15
liaan liaan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm having the same issue.

Digging through the code, there is nothing actually applying the config entered into the template for the paramater swapspace. The template file itself web/vm/templates/openvz.conf.tpl don't even have it in.

I'm running the latest OpenVZ that needs swappages parameter specified.

Should i log bug for this?

L:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th February 2012, 22:55
kiddiak kiddiak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It works for me when I have the last Swappages specified, for the UBC parameters I had to read the openvz wiki and understand these param...

http://wiki.openvz.org/UBC_configuration_examples
http://wiki.openvz.org/UBC_configuration_examples_table

free still reports wrong numbers. It seems to work though when I run a script to eat up memory, exactly when burst memory is reached the service is killed, is that normal though?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th February 2012, 06:13
liaan liaan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Kiddiak, I specify the swappages, it shows in the Database, but it don't get written to the config file itself on disk.

Which version of OpenVZ are you running?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th February 2012, 10:25
liaan liaan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Direct copy out of DB table: dbispconfig.openvz_vm;
You will notice no Swapfile option ..

What is in you DB?

Column: Config:

# Template version
VERSION="2"

# Parameters
ONBOOT="yes"
KMEMSIZE="unlimited"
LOCKEDPAGES="unlimited"
PRIVVMPAGES="3840:3840"
SHMPAGES="3840:3840"
NUMPROC="unlimited"
PHYSPAGES="0:52842"
VMGUARPAGES="3840:3840"
OOMGUARPAGES="3840:3840"
NUMTCPSOCK="unlimited"
NUMFLOCK="unlimited"
NUMPTY="unlimited"
NUMSIGINFO="unlimited"
TCPSNDBUF="unlimited"
TCPRCVBUF="unlimited"
OTHERSOCKBUF="unlimited"
DGRAMRCVBUF="unlimited"
NUMOTHERSOCK="unlimited"
DCACHESIZE="unlimited"
NUMFILE="unlimited"
AVNUMPROC="unlimited"
NUMIPTENT="unlimited"

DISKSPACE="15728640:15728640"
DISKINODES="7864320:7864320"
QUOTAUGIDLIMIT="10000"
IOPRIO="4"
QUOTATIME="0"

CPUS="4"
CPUUNITS="1000"
CPULIMIT="400"

VE_ROOT="/vz/root/$VEID"
VE_PRIVATE="/vz/private/$VEID"
OSTEMPLATE="centos-6-x86-devel"
ORIGIN_SAMPLE="vps.basic"
HOSTNAME="v102.test.tld"
IP_ADDRESS="10.0.0.52"
NAMESERVER="8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4"
# alternative meminfo: "pages:256000"
MEMINFO="privvmpages:1"

CAPABILITY="asdf"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st March 2012, 00:49
kiddiak kiddiak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

ok I see it's not written anywhere... strange, then this param. had nothing to do with vm's not starting, just other values when not specified, but for a 256MB container my conf are

# Template version
VERSION="2"

# Parameters
ONBOOT="yes"
KMEMSIZE="16384000:18022400"
LOCKEDPAGES="4096"
PRIVVMPAGES="98304:98304"
SHMPAGES="65536:65536"
NUMPROC="400"
PHYSPAGES="0:2147483647"
VMGUARPAGES="65536:65536"
OOMGUARPAGES="65536:65536"
NUMTCPSOCK="500"
NUMFLOCK="200:220"
NUMPTY="64"
NUMSIGINFO="512"
TCPSNDBUF="5365760:10485760"
TCPRCVBUF="5365760:10485760"
OTHERSOCKBUF="1503232:4063232"
DGRAMRCVBUF="262144"
NUMOTHERSOCK="500"
DCACHESIZE="4194304:4317184"
NUMFILE="8192"
AVNUMPROC="200"
NUMIPTENT="999999:999999"

DISKSPACE="10485760:10485760"
DISKINODES="5242880:5242880"
QUOTAUGIDLIMIT="10000"
IOPRIO="4"
QUOTATIME="0"

CPUS="1"
CPUUNITS="30000"
CPULIMIT="20"

VE_ROOT="/vz/root/$VEID"
VE_PRIVATE="/vz/private/$VEID"
OSTEMPLATE="ubuntu-10.04-x86_64"
ORIGIN_SAMPLE="vps.basic"
HOSTNAME="testvps.mydomain.tld"
IP_ADDRESS="x.x.x.x"
NAMESERVER="x.x.x.x x.x.x.x"
# alternative meminfo: "pages:256000"
MEMINFO="privvmpages:1"

CAPABILITY="" ( asdf in your conf ? )

i was reading openvz has no version nr just the kernel version, I have 2.6.32-042stab049.6 and vzctl and vzquota from ubuntu repos
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.3.3 Autoresponder, adding subdomain problem BlackHat Installation/Configuration 4 18th October 2011 14:24
SquirrelMail login not working glenneh Installation/Configuration 13 9th April 2011 20:01
mail authentication failure - unknown user or password evok Installation/Configuration 9 16th October 2010 06:37
CGI and FormMail Cracklefish Installation/Configuration 17 13th October 2009 13:40
Help configure Postfix to use alt port 465 or 587 BoloMarkIII Installation/Configuration 10 16th March 2009 17:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.