Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 23rd June 2012, 14:06
baskin baskin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syros, Greece
Posts: 118
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

It seems that ispconfig cannot understand the new config file for some reason.

I have tried to manually change "testing" on the working config to something else that i want and apache is reloading ok.

If i try the same change through ispconfig web interface apache fails to start and ispconfig is reverting to the working copy. Apache fails to start also when i try to copy the .err file as the working vhost configuration.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 23rd June 2012, 14:39
baskin baskin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syros, Greece
Posts: 118
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Sorry for the multiple posts.

I have tried to add just a comment "# test" to the vhost file through ispconfig's web interface and it fails.

Another vhost that i have tried has no issue. So it is something specific to this vhost file and the problem has appeared after upgrading to 3.0.4.6. Before the upgrade i was editing the Apache Directives without issues.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th June 2012, 14:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baskin View Post
I have also tried to manually copy the .err file and restart apache but it fails.
When you do that and run
Code:
httpd -t
, what's the output?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th June 2012, 15:19
baskin baskin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syros, Greece
Posts: 118
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
When you do that and run
Code:
httpd -t
, what's the output?
I can't find a command "httpd". I'm on debian stable (squeeze).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25th June 2012, 04:15
Bookworm Bookworm is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 28
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

try 'apache2 -t'
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 28th June 2012, 16:58
baskin baskin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syros, Greece
Posts: 118
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Code:
apache2 -t
returns this:

Code:
apache2: bad user name ${APACHE_RUN_USER}
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 29th June 2012, 11:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Try
Code:
./etc/apache2/envvars && apache2 -t
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 1st July 2012, 09:17
baskin baskin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syros, Greece
Posts: 118
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Although the file "envvars" exists i'm getting this:

Code:
#./etc/apache2/envvars && apache2 -t
bash: ./etc/apache2/envvars: No such file or directory
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2nd July 2012, 10:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,983
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,372 Times in 4,219 Posts
Default

And you are sure that you run the command as root user and not another user or sudo?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2nd July 2012, 18:20
baskin baskin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Syros, Greece
Posts: 118
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
And you are sure that you run the command as root user and not another user or sudo?
You were right. I was trying with a sudoer (but i had execute sudo su before).

Nevertheless as root i'm getting the same result.

Code:
root@barbarossa:/etc/apache2/sites-available# ./etc/apache2/envvars && apache2 -t
bash: ./etc/apache2/envvars: No such file or directory
I can see that envvars is not executable:

Code:
root@barbarossa:/etc/apache2# ls -l envvars 
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1169 Feb  5 23:34 envvars
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP warnings after upgrade to ISP config 3.03 stevegjacobs Installation/Configuration 5 30th October 2010 14:31
Adding non-RAID backup disk to system with RAID 1... BorderAmigos Installation/Configuration 1 20th February 2010 20:50
vhost not working on ISPConfig 2.2.13 tannnk Installation/Configuration 2 22nd June 2007 14:31
would like a vhost for the squirrelmail pkg in ispconfig sullast General 3 22nd May 2007 18:23
After ISPConfig installed - Disk Partition sushestvo Installation/Configuration 4 12th October 2005 14:39


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.