Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th February 2012, 19:07
mcrider mcrider is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Bind DNS not reloading zone changes properly

I'm using Bind (9.8.2) in ISPConfig3 (3.0.3.3) on Fedora 15. When I create a new zone file Bind loads it fine and the new zone appears in my DNS server. However, when I change an existing zone file, Bind does not load the change. I have to manually restart Bind before it will pick up the change. How do I make Bind pickup the changes from ISPConfig without a forced restart?

Thanks!

Matt
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th February 2012, 08:36
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,754
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

Update ispconfig to the current versiobn (3.0.4.3) and check if the problem still exists. If thats the case, then there might be a problem in the bind version that is installed or a problem in the init script as ispconfig runs the "reload" action of the bind script in /etc/init.d/ after zonefile changes.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th February 2012, 15:58
mcrider mcrider is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Temporary solution

In the short term, we hacked Bind to restart upon a zone change instead of reloading. I'm in the process of moving to a new VM so I will update ISPConfig once that move is done and everything is stable.

Thanks Till
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th February 2012, 16:38
mcrider mcrider is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

These are dynamic zones and Bind 9 will not re-read dynamic zones on a reload. I didn't configure these as dynamic zones, that's something ISPConfig did. Is there a way to changes these to static zones?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bind dns, dns zone files

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[ask] BIND Problems - setting up DNS server in centos 5.5 h4rm0n14 Server Operation 3 2nd July 2011 15:24
Fedora 13 BIND Server wont start. ev0css Installation/Configuration 1 23rd June 2010 22:16
HELP DNS and DHCP I AM LOST krisarmstrong Server Operation 0 18th August 2009 23:27
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Zone Transfer not complete. joelee HOWTO-Related Questions 3 19th August 2007 14:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.